Follow Us:
Tuesday, July 05, 2022

Gurgaon Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 LIVE Updates: Winner, Runner-up

Gurgaon (Haryana) Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live: Get all the updates on Gurgaon constituency election results.

By: Election Desk | Chandigarh |
Updated: May 23, 2019 1:07:43 pm
Gurgaon Election Results 2019: Gurgaon went to polls on Sun, May 12, 2019 (Image Source:

Gurgaon (Haryana) Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live: The Gurgaon Lok Sabha constituency went to polls on Sun, May 12, 2019. In the last Lok Sabha elections, the seat was won by Inderjit Singh Rao of the BJP by a margin of 274722 votes. Inderjit Singh Rao defeated INLD candidate Zakir Hussain.

Haryana had registered 71.45 % voting in 2014 general elections. With a vote share of 44.72 %, Bharatiya Janata Party had topped the results tally with 7 seats, followed by Indian National Lok Dal (2 seats) and Indian National Congress (1 seats).

The Narendra Modi-led BJP had swept the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, reducing the Congress to a historic low of 44 seats. Riding on Modi wave, the BJP had won a decisive mandate with 282 seats. Among the regional parties, only Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress in West Bengal and Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal in Odisha remained largely unaffected by the Modi juggernaut.

[ie_automated_story_live_blog_card ]

Best of Express Premium
BJP and Shiv Sena allies might not go after Uddhav factionPremium
In Maharashtra political drama, cameo by a 30-year-old from Haryana makes...Premium
C Raja Mohan writes: A chill down Asia’s spinePremium
Muslims and Judiciary: We do not have Muslim or non-Muslim judges in IndiaPremium

Towards the end of its tenure, the Narendra Modi government, however, lost some sheen as the party was defeated in crucial state elections in the run up to the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The friction in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) also came to the fore as Shiv Sena, the BJP’s oldest ally, became critical of PM Modi.

On the other hand, Rahul Gandhi led the Congress’s revival with the party winning Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh assembly elections in 2018. The 2019 Lok Sabha elections also saw two arch rivals – SP and BSP- coming together to take on the BJP in Uttar Pradesh. Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav left behind the acrimonious past and forged an alliance before the elections.

Uttar Pradesh will play a crucial role in government formation at the Centre as the state sends 80 members to parliament. On the back of a Modi wave in 2014, the BJP had won 71 seats in the state. In the current Lok Sabha elections, the saffron party is locked in a fierce contest against the SP-BSP alliance, with Congress seeking to regain its foothold in the Hindi heartland.

Check here all the details about Gurgaon Lok Sabha Elections Results.

Express Explained Go beyond the news. Understand the headlines with our Explained stories

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest Elections News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard