Follow Us:
Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Goa Election Results 2012: Full list of winners of all constituencies in assembly elections of Goa and how it can change in 2017

The results for assembly elections 2017 will be declared on March 11.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: March 11, 2017 8:03:31 am
Goa elections: Manohar Parrikar waits to cast his vote. (Express photo)

Goa elections 2012 saw a then record turnout of 82.2 per cent reinforcing the trend that record/higher than usual voter turnouts usually mean a vote for change. The Bharatiya Janata Party formed the government and Manohar Parrikar was made the Chief Minister of the coastal state as the Congress suffered a bitter defeat. In 2012, BJP won 21 out of 40 seats and its poll partner MGP won three while Congress won nine seats and its poll partner NCP drew a blank.

Goa election results 2017 LIVE updates here

The elections this time are being contested closely and four former chief ministers of the state are in the fray including the incumbent Laxmikant Parsekar. The four former CMs in the fray are Churchill Alemao, Pratapsinh Rane, Ravi Naik, Digambar Kamat and Luizinho Faleiro.

The BJP returned to power in 2012 after it conceded to Congress in 2005. A record 83 per cent turnout of the 11,10,884 voters was seen this time and it will be interesting to see whether this was a vote for change or not.

In 2012, the BJP had a pre-poll alliance with the MGP. However, this time party fought the election on 36 seats while the Congress did on 37. New entrant in Goa, AAP fought on 39 seats too.

The Goa Assembly election results in 2012 were (Constituency-Winner-Party-Votes won):

1 Mandrem Laxmikant Parsekar BJP
2 Pernem Rajendra Arlekar BJP
3 Bicholim Naresh Rajaram Sawal IND
4 Tivim Kiran Mohan Kandolkar BJP
5 Mapusa Francis D’Souza BJP
6 Siolim Dayanand Mandrekar BJP
7 Saligao Dilip Parulekar BJP
8 Calangute Michael Vincent Lobo BJP
9 Porvorim Rohan Khaunte IND
10 Aldona Ticlo Glenn J V A E Souza BJP
11 Panaji Manohar Parrikar BJP
12 Taleigao Jennifer A. Monserrate INC
13 Santa Cruz Atanasio J. Monserrate INC
14 St. Andre Vishnu Surya Naik Wagh BJP
15 Cumbarjua Pandurang A. Madkaikar INC
16 Mayem Anant Shet BJP
17 Sanquelim Pramod Sawant BJP
18 Poriem Pratapsingh Raoji Rane INC
19 Valpoi Vishwajit Pratapsingh Rane INC
20 Priol Pandurang Alias Deepak Dhavalikar MAG
21 Ponda Lavoo Mamledar MAG
22 Siroda Mahadev Narayan Naik BJP
23 Marcaim Ramkrishna Alias Sudin Dhavalikar MAG
24 Mormugao Milind Sagun Naik BJP
25 Vasco Da Gama Jose Luis Carlos Almeida BJP
26 Dabolim Mauvin Heliodoro Godinho INC
27 Cortalim Matanhy Saldanha BJP
28 Nuvem Francisco Xavier Pacheco (Mickky) GVP
29 Curtorim Aleixo Reginaldo Lourenco INC
30 Fatorda Vijai Sardesai IND
31 Margao Digambar Kamat INC
32 Benaulim Caetano R. Silva GVP
33 Navelim Avertano Furtado IND
34 Cuncolim Subhash Alias Rajan Kashinath Naik BJP
35 Velim Benjamin Silva M IND
36 Quepem Chandrakant Kavalekar INC
37 Curchorem Nilesh Cabral BJP
38 Sanvordem Ganesh Chandru Gaonkar BJP
39 Sanguem Subhash U. Phal Dessai BJP
40 Canacona Ramesh Bombo Tawadkar BJP

Exit poll predictions for the 2017 Assembly elections in Goa, Manipur, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Punjab.

According to exit poll projections, although the BJP may get a majority in Goa, the Congress is close on its heels. India TV and India Today said BJP may secure a maximum of 22 seats, but the former has given Congress a chance of winning up to 18 seats. Both the exit polls also shrugged off the Aam Aadmi Party’s prospects of coming into power. According to India News, AAP would be the clear loser in the state, with a chance of winning just 7 seats.

For all the latest Elections News, download Indian Express App