Sunday, Dec 04, 2022

SSP, SSM join hands for Punjab elections; Chaduni group on 10 seats

🔴 SSP’s Punjab unit president, Rashpal Singh Jouramajra, told The Indian Express they will probably release the list of its ten candidates on Tuesday.

Gurnam Singh Chaduni, Samyukt Sangharsh, Sanyukt Samaj Morcha, Balbir Singh Rajewal, SSP, Panjab University, Chandigarh news, Chandigarh, Indian express, Indian express news, Punjab newsChaduni and Rajewal

Setting aside sharp differences over seat sharing, the two farmer groups contesting Punjab polls have finally entered into an alliance with Balbir Singh Rajewal-led political outfit, the Sanyukt Samaj Morcha (SSM), agreeing to give 10 seats to Gurnam Singh Chaduni’s Samyukt Sangharsh Party (SSP).

Elections for the 117-member Punjab Assembly are Farmer groups seal deal: Chaduni outfit gets 10 seats, rest go to Rajewal’s SSMscheduled for February 20.

A senior leader of SSM and former professor at Chandigarh’s Panjab University, Manjeet Singh, said: “Both factions have agreed to contest the upcoming polls jointly. As per the agreement, the SSP will contest ten seats while candidates for remaining seats will be fielded by the SSM. The SSM has already announced candidates for ten seats while candidates for remaining seats will also be decided soon.”

SSP’s Punjab unit president, Rashpal Singh Jouramajra, told The Indian Express they will probably release the list of its ten candidates on Tuesday.

Subscriber Only Stories
Baramati not for taking: Supriya Sule seeks to make her point via Mumbai ...Premium
The Neu Air India Flight PathPremium
Row over Paresh Rawal remarks | Ahmedabad’s Bengali migrants have a...Premium
Mon killings: A year later | ‘Not dead, nor alive…  just suffering’Premium

“People are happy with the unity of farmer groups. We have now planned to issue a joint poll manifesto for the Punjab polls. We will focus on how the agriculture sector of Punjab can be strengthened and how crop diversification can take place to increase the income of farmers. We have plans to prepare particular clusters for each of the crops in different parts of Punjab. Different government agencies will be roped in to achieve this objective, if the farmer outfits form the next government in Punjab,” said Jouramajra.

Rajewal and Chaduni are prominent farmer leaders who had played a significant role during the recent farmer agitation fought against three contentious farm laws. They had initiated talks for a poll alliance after forming political outfits. However, soon after differences had emerged between both political outfits over seat sharing.

Five days back, Chaduni had stated: “They (SSM) are offering us only nine seats. I asked Rajewal ji to give us at least 25 seats. Either they give us our due share, or we will be forced to field our candidates separately. We have been preparing for the polls for the past six months. We have prepared candidates for 40-50 seats. They (Rajewal faction) have been ignoring us since the formation of SSM, while we want to contest the elections together.”


However, Rajewal faction had termed Chaduni’s statement as a “pressure tactic” to secure more seats.

However, despite differences, the leaders for both outfits continued to hold talks to find a middle path.
Senior leaders of both parties held a meeting Tuesday too in which they finally agreed on a seat sharing formula.

Leaders from both sides told The Indian Express that it would have sent a wrong message to their supporters, had both factions fielded candidates against each other.


Earlier, alliance talks between Rajewal and AAP leadership had failed to yield any results.

Meanwhile on Monday, the SSM also announced the names of another 20 of its candidates.

The party gave tickets to Lakhwinder Singh from Ferozepur City, Kuldip Singh Wazirpur from Nawanshahr, Balwinder Singh from Batala, Tarun Bawa Jain from Ludhiana (West ), Harkirat Singh from Atam Nagar, and Gurpreet Singh Kotli from Gidderbaha. Other names included Sukhminder Kumar from Malout, Anroop Kaur from Muktsar and Boota Singh Shadipur from Sanaur.

SSM announced that Chamkaur Singh will contest from Bhucho, Sarabjit Singh from Dhuri, Mora Singh from Ferozepur Rural, Satnam Singh from Raja Sansi, Surinder Singh from Jalalabad, Amarjit Singh Maan from Sunam and Bhagwant Singh from Bhadaur. Further, Abhikarn Singh will fight from Barnala, Gurnam Singh Bikhi from Mansa, Chota Singh Miyan from Sardulgarh and Simardeep Singh from Payal. The SSM had earlier announced 10 candidates.

First published on: 18-01-2022 at 12:57:01 am
Next Story

Woman found dead in her flat, cops suspect murder

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments