Saturday, Dec 03, 2022

Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 LIVE Updates: BJP’s Nalin Kateel wins

Dakshina Kannada (Karnataka) Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live: Get all the updates on Dakshina Kannada constituency election results.

Dakshina Kannada Election Results 2019: Dakshina Kannada went to polls on Thu, Apr 18, 2019 (Image Source:

Dakshina Kannada (Karnataka) Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live: BJP’s Nalin Kateel wins against Congress’ Mithun Rai from the Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha constituency which went to polls on April 18, 2019. In the last Lok Sabha elections, the seat was won by Nalin Kumar Kateel of the BJP by a margin of 143709 votes. Nalin Kumar Kateel defeated INC candidate Janardhana Poojary.

Karnataka had registered 67.72 % voting in 2014 general elections. With a vote share of 48.21 %, Bharatiya Janata Party had topped the results tally with 17 seats, followed by Indian National Congress (9 seats) and Janata Dal (Secular) (2 seats).

The Narendra Modi-led BJP had swept the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, reducing the Congress to a historic low of 44 seats. Riding on Modi wave, the BJP had won a decisive mandate with 282 seats. Among the regional parties, only Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress in West Bengal and Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal in Odisha remained largely unaffected by the Modi juggernaut.

[ie_automated_story_live_blog_card ]

Subscriber Only Stories
UPSC Essentials| Weekly news express with MCQs : Project GIB, Remittances...Premium
Delhi Confidential: Why CJI Chandrachud says children should be taught as...Premium
Shaped by war: Ukraine artist to showcase work at Kochi-Muziris BiennalePremium
Most drones crossing border originate from Pak Rangers outposts: AgenciesPremium

Towards the end of its tenure, the Narendra Modi government, however, lost some sheen as the party was defeated in crucial state elections in the run up to the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The friction in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) also came to the fore as Shiv Sena, the BJP’s oldest ally, became critical of PM Modi.

On the other hand, Rahul Gandhi led the Congress’s revival with the party winning Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh assembly elections in 2018. The 2019 Lok Sabha elections also saw two arch rivals – SP and BSP- coming together to take on the BJP in Uttar Pradesh. Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav left behind the acrimonious past and forged an alliance before the elections.

Uttar Pradesh will play a crucial role in government formation at the Centre as the state sends 80 members to parliament. On the back of a Modi wave in 2014, the BJP had won 71 seats in the state. In the current Lok Sabha elections, the saffron party is locked in a fierce contest against the SP-BSP alliance, with Congress seeking to regain its foothold in the Hindi heartland.

Check here all the details about Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha Elections Results.

First published on: 23-05-2019 at 04:00:00 am
Next Story

Women voters outnumber men in Doaba by 6 per cent

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments