Follow Us:
Wednesday, May 19, 2021

Bihar election results: Govt intimidating officials, tampering with vote count, alleges RJD

Sharing a purported list of winning candidates from as many as 119 seats on Twitter, the RJD claimed returning officers had already congratulated its candidates on their win, but is now refusing to issue certificates.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: November 10, 2020 10:54:22 pm
Bihar Election 2020 Live Updates: Rahul Gandhi to hold two rallies in state todayOpposition's CM candidate Tejashwi Yadav is leading from Raghopur. In pic: Tejashwi Yadav addresses a rally (File/PTI Photo)

Even as the counting of votes is underway in Bihar, the RJD on Tuesday accused the Nitish Kumar government of intimidating officials and tampering with the results.

“Nitish Kumar and Sushil Modi are pressuring all officials to tamper with the counting of votes and make sure the Mahagathbandan fails to win over 105-110 seats,” the party has alleged.

Sharing a purported list of winning candidates from as many as 119 seats, the RJD claimed returning officers had already congratulated its candidates on their win, but is now refusing to issue certificates, and claiming they have lost.

The RJD and Congress delegation arrived at the Election Commission office in Patna to raise the issue. “There are over dozens of seats where tampering has been done. They are trying to change the people’s mandate, even after all such ill-intended attempts we’ll form govt,” RJD leader Manoj Jha said.

“About an hour ago, there was a post by a party on social media claiming that their party has won 119 seats. It is to clearly state that all results are on our portal, total results declared as of now are of 146 seats, that is the factual situation,” Deputy Election Commissioner Chandrabhushan Kumar reacted to the allegations in a press conference.

Meanwhile, the CPIML has written to the Election Commission, demanding recount in Bhorey, Arrah and Daraundha Assembly seats “due to dubious counting practices”.

“We urgently seek a recount of votes in the Bhorey, Arrah and Daraundha Assembly constituencies of Bihar. On all three of these seats, CPIML candidates have been shown to be defeated in very narrow margins, following some worrying violations of counting norms,” their letter says.

As per the latest data, the NDA alliance is leading in 125 seats while the Grand Alliance is ahead in 111 seats. The majority mark in the 243-member Bihar Assembly is 122. The RJD and BJP are in a race to emerge the single-largest party, with the former leading in 74 seats and the latter in 73. Follow Bihar Assembly Elections Results LIVE updates

However, the RJD, whose CM candidate Tejashwi Yadav is leading in Raghopur, has alleged that the Nitish administration is “delaying the counting in at least 10 seats by not giving certificates to winning candidates.”

“Sitting in the CM office, Nitish Kumar and Sushil Modi have also pressured all District Magistrates and Returning Officers to announce winners in seats where their candidates are leading by a small margin,” the party claimed.

The RJD has expressed optimism that the Grand Alliance–comprising of the party, Congress, and Left parties– is winning the state elections, even as poll trends are yet to signal a clear victory for any party.

“We are in touch with our candidates and workers from all areas and the information received from them shows that the results will go in our favour,” the Lalu Prasad-led party wrote on its Twitter handle.

In yet another tweet, the party said that it was ahead of its rivals in at least 84 seats. “According to our realtime data, we are ahead in 84 seats. The postal ballots have not been counted at several places. So wait till the end.

“For example, we are leading by 12,000 in Manhar, 14,000 in Fatuha and 10,000 in Suryagadha, but TV channels are showing that we are trailing on these seats,” the RJD stated on the microblogging site.

It also said that the counting process will stretch into the night as additional polling stations were set up this time to maintain social distance on the voting day in view of the COVID-19 pandemic.

“A Mahagathbandhan government will be formed for sure. Bihar has effected a change,” the RJD said, further asking its candidates and agents to stay put at the counting centres until the process is complete.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Elections News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.