Follow Us:
Monday, January 27, 2020

Banka Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 LIVE Update: JDU’s Giridhari Yadav wins

Banka (Bihar) Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live: Get all the updates on Banka constituency election results.

By: Election Desk | Patna | Updated: May 24, 2019 1:11:26 pm
Banka Election Results 2019: Banka went to polls on Thu, Apr 18, 2019 (Image Source:

Banka (Bihar) Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live: JDU’s Giridhari Yadav wins against RJD’s Jai Prakash Narayan Yadav from the Banka Lok Sabha constituency which went to polls on April 18, 2019. In the last Lok Sabha elections, the seat was won by Jai Prakash Narayan Yadav of the RJD by a margin of 10144 votes. Jai Prakash Narayan Yadav defeated BJP candidate Putul Kumari.

Banka Lok Sabha Constituency Winner
Name Party Status
Giridhari Yadav JD(U) WON
*The election result data is provided by C-Voter on a real time basis and is not altered or moderated by in any way.

Bihar had registered 56.48 % voting in 2014 general elections. With a vote share of 41.03 %, Bharatiya Janata Party had topped the results tally with 22 seats, followed by Lok Jan Shakti Party (6 seats) and Rashtriya Janata Dal (4 seats).

The Narendra Modi-led BJP had swept the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, reducing the Congress to a historic low of 44 seats. Riding on Modi wave, the BJP had won a decisive mandate with 282 seats. Among the regional parties, only Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress in West Bengal and Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal in Odisha remained largely unaffected by the Modi juggernaut.

[ie_automated_story_live_blog_card ]

Towards the end of its tenure, the Narendra Modi government, however, lost some sheen as the party was defeated in crucial state elections in the run up to the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The friction in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) also came to the fore as Shiv Sena, the BJP’s oldest ally, became critical of PM Modi.

On the other hand, Rahul Gandhi led the Congress’s revival with the party winning Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh assembly elections in 2018. The 2019 Lok Sabha elections also saw two arch rivals – SP and BSP- coming together to take on the BJP in Uttar Pradesh. Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav left behind the acrimonious past and forged an alliance before the elections.

Uttar Pradesh will play a crucial role in government formation at the Centre as the state sends 80 members to parliament. On the back of a Modi wave in 2014, the BJP had won 71 seats in the state. In the current Lok Sabha elections, the saffron party is locked in a fierce contest against the SP-BSP alliance, with Congress seeking to regain its foothold in the Hindi heartland.

Check here all the details about Banka Lok Sabha Elections Results.

For all the latest Elections News, download Indian Express App