Elections 2019


Latest News

Punjab bypolls: Hit by factionalism BJP faces uphill task in Phagwara and Mukerian

In Mukerian, there is considerable anger among BJP cadres loyal to Arunesh Kumar who was the party candidate in the 2017 assembly polls.

Maharashtra elections: All you need to know about Mumbai candidates

The severity of the criminal cases range from murder, attempt to murder, death threats, criminal intimidation, extortion threats, theft and robbery.

As campaigning ends, BJP steps up pitch on Article 370

While the BJP dismissed any suggestions of anti-incumbency against its chief ministers Devendra Fadnavis and Manohar Lal Khattar, top party leaders did not hesitate to campaign extensively in both the states.

A new Lal: Manohar Lal Khattar holds steady in Haryana

A few months ago, BJP won all 10 LS seats and more than half the votes in Haryana. However, it is not this alone that is holding Manohar Lal Khattar steady. From a feeble, divided Opposition to a successful job hiring scheme and appeal of Art 370, The Indian Express travels across the state to find out why BJP is sitting pretty

Hema Malini gives Panchkula a miss: ‘Copter trouble’

“They could have told us this earlier. If there is a problem with her helicopter, they would already know. They only kept us here in pretence of her coming else their rally would have looked like a flop show,” said a supporter.

Baramati: No fireworks despite BJP vow to unseat Ajit Pawar

While party chief Sharad Pawar and Baramati MP Supriya Sule didn’t hold any rallies for Pawar, his wife Sunetra, son Jay and other NCP leaders campaigned for him.

In the final lap, CM rekindles statehood for Vidarbha: ‘We have not given up’

Fadnavis says party’s central leadership will take decision at right time

MumbaiVotes Candidate-Profile App: Over 100 candidates reach out to voters through video messages

Vivek Gilani, founder of Mumbai Votes, said the mobile application to upload videos “humanises” the candidate for voters and thus amplifies how vested they feel in their voting decision.

Dakha bypoll: Majithia, party workers gherao police station, submit list of ‘vendetta cases’

Majithia was accompanied by party candidate Manpreet Singh Ayali, spokesperson Daljit Singh Cheema and senior leader Maheshinder Grewal. SAD leader Bikram Majithia at Dakha in Ludhiana.

Will win all four seats, but it is no refrendum on govt: Amarinder Singh

The bypolls are going to be held on the assembly seats of Phagwara, Dakha, Mukerian and Jalalabad on October 21. "Reports are that everything is going well and we will win all the four seats," he said.

Mumbadevi: Cong candidate misused Assembly letterhead to support Yakub Memon’s mercy petition, advocate writes to EC

The complaint, filed by Gaurang Jhaveri, stated that Patel has allowed signatures of various people on the said letterhead. The letter was allegedly sent to the President in 2015.

Pune: Relentless downpour dampens last day of campaign

The downpour thwarted many planned election events.