Follow Us:
Wednesday, October 20, 2021

Winners of Nobel Peace Prize since 1980

The 2014 Nobel Peace Prize was announced Friday. Here is a list of winners of the award since 1980.

By: Associated Press | Oslo (norway) |
Updated: October 10, 2014 3:37:47 pm

The 2014 Nobel Peace Prize was announced Friday. Here is a list of winners of the award since 1980:

2014: Kailash Satyarthi, India, and Malala Yousafzai, Pakistan.

2013: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons.

2012: European Union.

2011: Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Liberia, Leymah Gbowee, Liberia, and Tawakkol Karman, Yemen.

2010: Liu Xiaobo, China.

2009: Barack Obama, United States.

2008: Martti Ahtisaari, Finland.

2007: Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change and Al Gore, United States.

2006: Muhammad Yunus, Bangladesh and Grameen Bank, Bangladesh.

2005: International Atomic Energy Agency and Mohamed ElBaradei, Egypt.

2004: Wangari Maathai, Kenya.

2003: Shirin Ebadi, Iran.

2002: Jimmy Carter, United States.

2001: United Nations and Kofi Annan, Ghana.

2000: Kim Dae-jung, South Korea.

1999: Medecins Sans Frontieres.

1998: John Hume, United Kingdom, and David Trimble, United Kingdom.

1997: International Campaign to Ban Landmines and Jody Williams, United States.

1996: Carlos Filipe Ximenes Belo, East Timor, and Jose Ramos-Horta, East Timor.

1995: Joseph Rotblat, United Kingdom, and Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs

1994: Yasser Arafat, Palestine territories, Shimon Peres, Israel, and Yitzhak Rabin, Israel.

1993: Nelson Mandela, South Africa, and Frederik Willem de Klerk, South Africa.

1992: Rigoberta Menchu Tum, Guatemala.

1991: Aung San Suu Kyi, Burma.

1990: Mikhail Sergeyevich Gorbachev, USSR (now Russia).

1989: The 14th Dalai Lama (Tenzin Gyatso), China.

1988: United Nations Peacekeeping Forces

1987: Oscar Arias Sanchez, Costa Rica.

1986: Elie Wiesel, United States.

1985: International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War.

1984: Desmond Mpilo Tutu, South Africa.

1983: Lech Walesa, Poland.

1982: Alva Myrdal, Sweden, and Alfonso Garcia Robles, Mexico.

1981: Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees.

1980: Adolfo Perez Esquivel, Argentina.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest World News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by