Follow Us:
Tuesday, August 16, 2022

Indian-American becomes first non-Irish poet to win Kavanagh Poetry Award

'In Another Country' is a collection of 20 unpublished poems.

Written by PTI | Houston |
September 29, 2013 11:39:10 am

An Indian-American poet has become the first non-Irish person to have won the prestigious 2013 Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award for the collection of his debut poems.

Rafiq Kathwari’s collection of 20 unpublished poems “In Another Country”,was selected for the coveted award amidst 112 contestants from across the world.

The Kavanagh award,which is now in its 41st year is given for a first unpublished collection of poems in English and is open to poets born in Ireland,of Irish nationality,or long-term resident in Ireland.

Kathwari,a Kashmiri by descent has become the first non-Irish to have won the award and will recieve 1,000 euros as the prize money.

Subscriber Only Stories
Delhi Confidential: Tiranga selfies campaign a big hit on Independence DayPremium
Bihar berozgari refrain makes way into CM’s job promisePremium
Collegium led by CJI Ramana cleared over 250 for HCs; vacancies now lowes...Premium
PM Modi’s Independence Day targets: corruption, nepotismPremium

“The award is a clear reflection of the new Irish multiculturalism”,Kathwari said,adding,he feels “gobsmacked”.

Kathwari,who divides his time between New York,Dublin and Srinagar,has been writing poems and essays for the last 30 years.

He has translated selected Urdu poems of Alama Iqbal,creating his own version. His poems are mostly inspired by “loss of innocence” in Kashmir and from his mother’s long time illness.


“Pain can be inspiring,and much of my poetry is defined by loss,” he said.

Kathwari graduated from the University of Kashmir in 1969 before studying at the New York University and Columbia University.

Most of his working life has been spent with Ethan Allen,a large manufacturer and retailer of home furnishings based in the United States.


Many of his works have been in print and online in the US,Ireland and Asia.

Previous winners of the Patrick Kavanagh Poetry award include Eileán Ní Chuilleanáin,Paul Durcan,Thomas McCarthy,Peter Sirr,Sinead Morrissey,Conor O’Callaghan,Celia de Freine and Joseph Woods.

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest World News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
First published on: 29-09-2013 at 11:39:10 am
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by

Featured Stories