Follow Us:
Wednesday, October 27, 2021

Manabe, Hasselmann and Parisi win 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics for discoveries in complex physical systems

The prestigious prize is worth 10 million Swedish crowns ($1.15 million) and is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

By: Reuters | Stockholm |
Updated: October 5, 2021 4:18:21 pm
Nobel Prize, Nobel Prize physics, Nobel Prize physics 2021, Nobel Prize physics 2021 winners, Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann, Giorgio Parisi, Nobel prize winners, Nobel Prize latest news Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi.

Scientists Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi won the 2021 Nobel Prize for Physics for their “groundbreaking contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems,” the award-giving body said on Tuesday.

“Complex systems are characterised by randomness and disorder and are difficult to understand,” the Swedish Academy of Sciences said in a statement. “This year’s Prize recognises new methods for describing them and predicting their long-term behaviour.”

[oovvuu-embed id=”37091594-d879-409a-a554-05facff465e5″]

Manabe, 90, has US citizenship. Parisi is Italian and Hasselmann is German.

The prestigious prize is worth 10 million Swedish crowns ($1.15 million).

Physics is the second Nobel to be awarded this week after Americans David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian won the prize for medicine on Monday for the discovery of receptors in the skin that sense temperature and touch.

The Nobel prizes were created in the will of Swedish dynamite inventor and businessman Alfred Nobel and have been awarded since 1901 with only a handful of interruptions, primarily due to the two world wars.

As last year, there will be no banquet in Stockholm because of the Covid-19 pandemic. The laureates will receive their medals and diplomas in their home countries.

The physics prize announcement will be followed in the coming days by the awards for chemistry, literature, peace and economics.

Among the Nobels, physics has often taken centre stage, with awards often going to major breakthroughs in our understanding of the universe. Previous winners include Albert Einstein and the husband-and-wife team of Pierre Curie and Marie Curie.

Last year, scientists Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez won the Nobel physics prize for their discoveries concerning black holes.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest World News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by