Follow Us:
Wednesday, July 06, 2022

Higgs-Englert win Physics Nobel

The existence of the Higgs boson is needed to explain how particles acquire mass.

October 9, 2013 1:27:06 am

The winners

Peter Higgs,84,emeritus professor of theoretical physics at the University of Edinburgh,Britain,and Francois Englert,80,professor emeritus of theoretical physics at the Universite Libre de Bruxelles,Belgium.

The duo won for proposing the existence of a special type of particle,since named the Higgs boson,whose features have been confirmed over the past year through experiments conducted at CERN,the gigantic international particle research laboratory on the Swiss-French border.

  ‘God particle’ resembles Higgs Boson ‘more and more’: CERN Scientists

Best of Express Premium
Funding winter sets in for Indian startups, staff out in the cold: Over 1...Premium
New worry in J&K: Officers say militancy entering a ‘secretive, dange...Premium
Cell therapy cancer centre takes shape in Bengaluru, trials are onPremium
Explained: Why monsoon is expected to pick up in JulyPremium

Its importance

The existence of the Higgs boson is needed to explain how particles acquire mass. It provides a fundamental pillar of the physics theory which explains the origins of the universe.


Wilhelm Conrad Roentgen won the first Nobel Prize in 1901 for his discovery of X-Rays

  Higgs Boson,the so-called ‘God particle,could spell trouble for universe

106 Nobel prizes in Physics have been awarded from 1901 to 2012 shared among 193 laureates

The oldest laureate in Physics till date is Raymond Davis Jr,who was 88 years old when he was awarded in 2002.

Only two women have won this prize — Marie Curie in 1903 (also awarded the 1911 Nobel Prize in Chemistry) and Maria Goeppert-Mayer in 1963.

Express Explained Go beyond the news. Understand the headlines with our Explained stories

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard