Friday, Oct 07, 2022

Canada’s Alice Munro wins Nobel Literature Prize

The Swedish Academy honoured Munro as a "master of the contemporary short story".

Canadian writer Alice Munro on Thursday won this year’s Nobel Prize in literature for her short stories that focus on the frailties of the human condition,becoming just the 13th woman to win in the history of the coveted award.

The Swedish Academy,which selects Nobel literature winners,honoured Munro as a “master of the contemporary short story”.

“Her stories are often set in small town environments,where the struggle for a socially acceptable existence often results in strained relationships and moral conflicts — problems that stem from generational differences and colliding life ambitions,” it said.

She’s the first Canadian writer to receive the prestigious $1.2 million award since Saul Bellow,who won in 1976 and left for the US as a boy.

Subscriber Only Stories
UPSC Key-October 7, 2022: Why you should read ‘Avalanches’ or  ‘Virtual W...Premium
Blunt criticism of Russian Army signals new challenge for PutinPremium
‘If I did not explore art, my life would remain unfulfilled’: Lalu Prasad...Premium
On Budget review eve, macro worries are back amid global recession fearsPremium

Tipped as one of the favourites in the days before today’s announcement,Munro is just the 13th woman to win the Nobel Literature Prize since it was first awarded in 1901.

Munro’s writing has brought her numerous awards. She won a National Book Critics Circle prize for ”Hateship,Friendship,Courtship,Loveship,Marriage,” and is a three-time winner of the Governor General’s prize,Canada’s highest literary honor.

Often compared to Anton Chekhov,the 82-year-old writer has attained near-canonical status as a thorough,but forgiving,documenter of the human spirit.


Her published work often turns on the difference between Munro’s growing up in Wingham,a conservative Canadian town west of Toronto,and her life after the social revolution of the 1960s.

Munro will receive the prize sum of eight million Swedish kronor (USD 1.24 million).

She will be presented with her award at a formal ceremony in Stockholm on December 10,the anniversary of prize founder Alfred Nobel’s death in 1896.


Last year’s Nobel literature award went to Mo Yan of China.

The 2013 Nobel announcements continue on Friday with the Nobel Peace Prize,followed by the economics prize on Monday.

(With Inputs from AP,AFP)

First published on: 10-10-2013 at 06:06:04 pm
Next Story

Quick Edit: Impossible to replace the irreplaceable

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments