scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Tuesday, August 03, 2021

New Instagram features spotted: You need to try out these today

Here, we take a look at five Instagram features that you might not be aware of.

Written by Ankita Garg | New Delhi |
Updated: December 15, 2020 1:34:55 pm

Instagram keeps on adding new features to its app, but not everyone is aware of all the features that the company releases. Just recently, Instagram added a few features, including the ability to watch videos with friends during a video call. You can now also reply (or forward) to a specific message on Instagram. Let’s take a look at five features that you might not be aware of.

Reply/forward option for a specific message

A few weeks back, Instagram added the ability to reply to a specific message to help keep the conversations contextual. This feature is similar to WhatsApp. You just need to tap and hold the message, and then Instagram will display a Reply label at the bottom. Just press it and then you are done. You can forward a message by following the same steps. At the bottom, you will also witness a ‘More’ option, and tapping on it will show Forward option. Besides, you can also tap and swipe the message on the right side in order to reply to a particular message.

New way to switch Instagram accounts

If you have two Instagram accounts and both are logged in, you can now easily switch by just double-tapping on the profile photo. The latter is located at the bottom right of your feed. If you have more than two Instagram accounts, then you can switch by long pressing on the profile and the app will show all your accounts. You can then tap on whichever account you wish to use.

Vanish Mode

Instagram has added a new Vanish mode to Instagram, which you will see in the messages section. When you activate the mode, the messages will only disappear when both the sender and receiver have read the messages and closed the chat. You are allowed to take a screenshot of all the disappearing messages. However, the moment you take a screenshot, Instagram displays a label saying “You took a screenshot.” This means that all your friends will get to know when you taking screenshots of private conversations. You can activate vanish mode by just opening a chat and swiping upwards. In order to experience this feature, just make sure you are on the latest version. To deactivate the mode, you need to just swipe up.

Mute or unmute someone’s Instagram story

Instagram allows you to mute someone’s Stories or posts if you don’t want to see them, but still want to follow the person. To mute or unmute someone’s story or posts, you just need to tap and hold the profile picture of the person in the Stories section, which is located at the top of your feed. You then need to select ‘Mute,’ and tap on ‘Mute Story.’

Muting any Story means that the story will only be visible at the end of the top bar in your feed. To unmute it, you need to follow the same steps for muting a story. Instagram says that the person won’t be informed if mute them.

Reaction Emojis in chat

This is similar to how Facebook lets you react to any posts. Instagram now allows you to react to posts using reaction emoticons. You just need to long-press on the posts that your friend has sent you and Instagram will show you different emojis. You can still double press on the posts to add a red heart icon.

New Story Reaction feature

Instagram is currently testing a new kind of reaction for Stories. Users currently see Story reactions in the messages section. The new test suggests that you won’t be needed to go to the messages section to check the reaction and then reply. Instagram users will now see reactions from some people on their Story only with a circular icon. Once you press on the reaction icon, you can then reply to the person.

Send disappearing photos or videos on Instagram

This one is not a new feature, and we have just explained this one. You are allowed to send a disappearing photo or video either as a group or an individual message. When someone opens a disappearing photo or video that you’ve sent them, the message is no longer visible in their inbox unless you have allowed a replay of your message.

You can send disappearing content by entering the inbox section on Instagram, which you can access by swiping left. Now, tap on the camera icon, which is placed next to the group or username of the person to whom you wish to send the disappearing photo or video. Tap on the Search box to access your phone’s gallery, and select the photo or video you to send.

Here’s you get three options, including View once, Allow once and Keep in chat. The names are self-explanatory. The first one means that the individual can see the photo or video only once, and then it will then disappear. The second one means you are allowed to replay, and the third one means that media won’t disappear.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Technology News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
Advertisement

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement