Follow Us:
Friday, July 30, 2021

Lockdown 4: Here’s how to get an e-pass for interstate travel

Lockdown 4.0 Interstate travel e-pass: Making the process of getting an e-pass easier, the Indian government claims to have set up a single-point access website where people can request an e-pass. Here's how to get an e-pass.

By: Tech Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: May 22, 2020 5:39:57 pm
Get India e-pass, India E-pass website, India E-pass, Apply for India E-pass, E-pass for coronavirus, E-Pass for COVID-19, How to get India E-pass The website has been developed by the National Informatics Centre.

Lockdown 4.0 Interstate travel e-pass: The nationwide lockdown due to the COVID-19 pandemic has been extended for the fourth time in India but this time the government has provide some relaxation. During the lockdown 4.0, a lot of relaxations have been put in place to help ease the mounting economic pressure. People have been allowed to move around a bit and visit their hometown if only an emergency. But to travel interstate, you will require an e-pass.

To get an e-pass a person will need to visit a website developed by the state government of the state they want to commute to. Lockdown 4.0 is in effect till May 31. The government is yet to announce whether it will lift the lockdown post that or extend it further. Here are the details of lockdown 4.0.

How to get an e-pass to move

–Making the process of getting an e-pass easier, the government of India has set up a single-point access website ( where people can request an e-pass. The website has been developed by the National Informatics Centre (NIC).

–This single-point access website currently has e-permits for 17 states only, excluding major states. is just a redirect service to help you navigate to the right website for your state. For example, if you are looking to get a pass in Noida, you will select Uttar Pradesh in the select city box. The website will then show me a hyperlink for the Uttar Pradesh e-pass website.

Lockdown 4.0: Non-essential deliveries begin in Red zones; things to know before ordering

–After they have been redirected to the state’s e-pass website, people can then verify their phone numbers with an OTP and upload all necessary documents to the website.

–After submitting all details, the concerned department will review the application and decide whether it wants to issue an e-pass to you or not. After the e-pass is issued, the person will get an SMS regarding the same on their phone with a link to download the e-pass. He then needs to carry the e-pass with him wherever he goes, as security personnel might ask to verify if the person can commute during the lockdown or not.

Also Read: Masks, no pool trips; here’s how Uber is preparing to restart services

The e-pass after being issued also shows inside the Aarogya Setu app.

At the time of writing, the website states that a total of 33,30,664 applications have been received by the 17 states, which include Maharashtra, Uttar Prades, Nagaland, Tamil Nadu, among others. Out of these only 11,50,398 applications have been passed. Whereas, 11,85,495 applications being rejected and 9,94,771 applications still under process.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Technology News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.