Updated: June 30, 2022 10:47:20 am
Spanish player Alejandro Davidovich Fokina on Thursday morning suffered a controversial exit from Wimbledon 2022 when he lost at the hands of Czech player Jiri Vesely.
Fokina lost in the second round after a brilliant first-round win at Wimbledon that saw him take out the No.7 seed Hubert Hurkacz in five sets.
While trailing 9-7 in the fifth set tiebreak against Vesely on Court 17, Fokina hit a ball in anger out of the court before he started to prepare to face double match points. Then he was penalised a point by umpire Carlos Ramos and lost the tie 3-6 7-5 7-6 3-6 6-7.
Match point is an ill advised time to commit a point penalty pic.twitter.com/gFottACqjM
— Timothy Burke (@bubbaprog) June 29, 2022
Having seen the incident, commentators were stunned. “I don’t agree with it. That’s crazy… what a lousy way to end it,” US tennis great John McEnroe told ESPN.
Davidovich Fokina had been cited for a different code violation earlier. When Ramos made the match-ending call, Davidovich Fokina questioned the ruling, saying his two citations were for different infractions.
Two such violations during one match result in a point being awarded to the opponent. This one happened to come right after Davidovich Fokina missed a forehand to give Vesely a 9-7 edge in the first-to-10-points, win-by-two final-set tiebreaker.
Subscriber Only Stories
Vesely moves on to face 30th-seeded Tommy Paul of the United States in the third round.
📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates
- The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.