Follow Us:
Sunday, December 05, 2021

Rio 2016 Olympics medal winners to be considered for Khel Ratna, Arjuna

Sports Ministry said the decision has been taken so that athletes need not wait for a year after their medal-winning performances at the Olympics.

By: PTI | New Delhi |
May 24, 2016 7:30:52 pm
Rio 2016 Olympics, Rio Olympics, Olympics, Rio Olympics India, Rio India, Olympics India, Khel Ratna, Arjuna Award, Khel Ratna sports, Arjuna Award sports, sports news, sports Sports Ministry will almost immediately recognise the athletes who win medals at the Rio 2016 Olympics with national awards.

In a bid to ensure that Olympic medallists get immediate recognition, the Sports Ministry on Tuesday said medal winners from the upcoming Rio Games will be considered for this year’s Khel Ratna and Arjuna Awards.

The ministry said the decision has been taken so that athletes need not wait for one full year after their medal-winning performances at the Olympic Games. The medal winners in individual events who have already not been conferred with Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna in the past will be considered for the highest sporting honour.

“Medal winners in team events, who have played stellar roles in the medal won by the team for the country in Rio
Olympics 2016 such as number of goals scored, number of goals saved etc., and who have already not been conferred with Arjuna Award in the past will be considered for Arjuna Awards,” the Ministry said.

As per the existing provisions of the schemes of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna Awards, sports achievements of
the sportspersons for the last four years preceding the year of award, i.e., sports achievements during the period 2011 to 2015 are to be considered.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard