Follow Us:
Sunday, July 03, 2022

Premier Futsal: Rules, teams, fixtures, everything you need to know

Premier Futsal kicks off in Chennai on July 15 in a competition that features six city franchises and legends of the game.

By: Express Web Desk |
Updated: July 15, 2016 6:25:16 pm
Premier Futsal, Futsal, What is futsal, futsal rules, futsal time, futsal ist, premier futsal fixtures, premier futsal teams, premier futsal tv, premier futsal channel, ryan giggs, paul scholes, ronaldinho, hernan crespo, falcao, falcao futsal Premier Futsal in an international style comes to the Indian shores starting July 15.

Premier Futsal competition – brought to India by Portugese legend Luis Figo – kick starts on July 15 at the Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium in Chennai on July 15. The first edition will be played between six city franchises with the matches being conducted in Chennai and Goa. The final will be played in Goa on July 24. Here’s a quick explainer on the league and the game.

What is futsal?

Futsal is in no way same as football. Some of the basics to keep in mind before you watch it live either in attendance or on TV:

Ball size: #4 ball with less bounce than a regular football

Best of Express Premium
There are no stars anymore, says Karan Johar. Why he is rightPremium
Get inspired: Why did Sardar Patel say that civil servants must not take ...Premium
NITI Aayog-commissioned report which studied 3 orders by Supreme Court, 2...Premium
Inside Track: Amit Shah’s strategy for Maharashtra and FadnavisPremium

Players: There are 5 players on the field

Substitutions: Unlimited rolling substitutions

Outside ball: Kick-in when the ball goes out of play on the sides, goal clearance (throw) when the ball goes behind the keeper

Time: 20 minutes halves

Time out: 1 time out in each half of one minute each

Physical contact: No sliding tackles or shoulder barge allowed

Restarts: Four second rule on restarting play

Offside: No

Backpass: Only once

Sending off: In case a player is sent off, the team can send in a substitute as replacement but not before two full minutes since the sending off. However a change can be made if the offending team concedes in this period.

Which teams are participating?

Chennai (owned by The Hindu), Mumbai (owned by DC Design), Kolkata (Grassroot Entertainment Pvt Ltd), Bengaluru (Puneeth Rajkumar), Kochi (ES Entertainment), Goa (Viiking Media and Entertainment Pvt Ltd)

Group  A: Chennai, Mumbai and Kochi

Group B: Goa, Kolkata and Bangalore

Marquee Players

Falcao (Chennai), Ryan Giggs (Mumbai), Hernan Crespo (Kolkata), Paul Scholes (Bengaluru), Michel Salgado (Kochi) and Ronaldinho (Goa)


Chennai vs Mumbai and Goa vs Kolkata in Chennai on July 15

Mumbai vs Kochi and Kolkata vs Bangalore in Chennai on July 16

Kochi vs Chennai and Bangalore vs Goa in Chennai on July 17

Kolkata vs Goa and Mumbai vs Chennai in Goa on July 19

Bangalore vs Kolkata and Kochi vs Mumbai in Goa on July 20

Goa vs Bangalore and Chennai vs Kochi in Goa on July 21

Group A winner vs Group B runner up and Group B winner vs Group A runner up in Goa on July 23

FINAL in Goa on July 24

Broadcast: The league will be broadcast live on Sony Network and associated properties.

JULY 4 SALE! Only for our international readers, monthly pricing starting at just $2.50

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard