Wednesday, Feb 08, 2023

Philadelphia on verge of tying NBA’s longest losing streak

Thaddeus Young and Michael Carter-Williams each scored 19 points for Philadelphia.

Austin Daye had 22 points and Tim Duncan added 19 as the San Antonio Spurs earned their 14th-straight win with a 113-91 victory Monday that sent the Philadelphia 76ers to their 25th-consecutive loss. Philadelphia will face Houston on Thursday with the dubious distinction of being a loss shy of tying the NBA record for consecutive losses set by the Cleveland Cavaliers in 2010-11.

Kawhi Leonard and Patty Mills scored 15 points each and Cory Joseph added 12 for San Antonio, which maintained the league’s best record at 54 wins and 16 losses. Thaddeus Young and Michael Carter-Williams each scored 19 points for Philadelphia.

Miami’s LeBron James scored 32 points, including a layup with 11.4 seconds left, and Chris Bosh capped his 30th birthday by blocking Damian Lillard’s layup in the final moments as the Heat escaped with a 93-91 win over the Portland Trail Blazers. Bosh finished with 15 points and Chris Andersen had 13 points and 11 rebounds for Miami, which won for just the fifth time in 12 games. Lillard led the Blazers with 19 points on 3-for-15 shooting.

At Charlotte, North Carolina, James Harden scored 31 points and Dwight Howard had a double-double in his return to the court as the Houston Rockets defeated the Bobcats 100-89 for their fourth-straight win. Terrence Jones added 18 points and seven rebounds.

Subscriber Only Stories
UPSC Key- February 8, 2023: Know about Post-disaster management, Addition...
What secrets do the creatures of the deep hold?
Sanjay Jha writes on Rahul Gandhi’s speech in Parliament: Questions the C...
Delhi Confidential: Hardeep Singh Puri takes part in novel demonstration ...

First published on: 26-03-2014 at 01:21 IST
Next Story

Victim’s kin put their story on FB, rights panel steps in

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments