Follow Us:
Monday, September 20, 2021

World Athletics U20 Championship: India storm into final of 4x400m mixed relay event

The Indian quartet of Abdul Razzaq, Priya Mohan, Summy and Kapil (in same order) entered the final as the second best team overall with a championship record timing of 3:23.36.

By: Sports Desk |
Updated: August 18, 2021 3:39:55 pm
athleticsThe Indian Mixed team of Abdul Razak, Priya Mohan, Summy and Kapil finished at No. 1 position in Heat 1. (Source: World Athletics)

India stormed into the final of the World Athletics U20 Championship by winning the first heat of the mixed 4x400m relay with an impressive time of 3 minutes 23.36 seconds on the opening day at the Kasarani Stadium, Nairobi in Kenya on Wednesday morning.

The mixed team comprising Abdul Razak, Priya Mohan, Summy and Kapil will compete in the final at 7.30 PM on Wednesday evening. The split timings of the Indians were Razak 48.18s, Priya 53.70, Summy 54.63 and Kapil 46.85.

India finished strongly as they beat two strong teams in the heat which included Poland and Jamaica. The first three from two heats and two best finishers qualified for the final.

Nigeria topped the heat with a time of 3:21.66s.

Czech Republic (3:24.15s), Jamaica (3:24.65s), Poland (3:24.69s), Sri Lanka (3:26.62s), Italy (3:28.00s), and South Africa (3:30.43s) were the other finalists which will be held on Wednesday from 5.15 pm (approx).

In women’s 400m, Priya (53.79s) qualified for the final when she finished third in her heat. Priya’s compatriot Summy finished fifth and failed to enter the final. The 400m final is scheduled to be held on Sunday from 7 pm (IST approx).

Meanwhile, in the men’s shot put event, Amandeep Singh Dhaliwal qualified for the final with a distance of 17.92m. The final will be held on Thursday from 5.20 pm (IST approx).

The other Indian to compete on the first day was Vipin Kumar in men’s hammer throw. He finished 20th out of the 24 competitors with a mark of 63.17m. The automatic qualifying mark was 74.00m.

In the evening, Kunwer Ajai Singh Raj Singh Rana who has a season’s best of 74.75m and Jay Kumar (PB: 72.29m) will compete in javelin throw event. The automatic qualifying mark is set at 73.00m or at least 12 best performers advance to the final to be held on Friday from 4.20 pm IST.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.