India bag seven medals at Asian Rowing Championships

India bag seven medals at Asian Rowing Championships

India bagged seven medals, including five silver and two bronze at 16th Asian Rowing Championships that concluded in Beijing on Monday.

According to information received, the quartet of Kapil Sharma, Jaswinder Singh, Rajesh Verma and Mohammad Azad won a silver in the men’s fours with a timing of 6:03.25s, while India’s second silver medal was bagged by Dattu Baban Bhokanal in the men’s single sculls event by clocking 7:18.41s.

The other silver medal winners for India are Vikram Singh and Shokendar Tomar (in the light weight men’s double sculls) and the duo of Roopendra Singh and Sonu Laxmi Narain in men’s double sculls.


Davinder Singh, Naveen Kumar Borraiya, Suchcha Singh Tomer, Gurinder Singh, Kapil Sharma, Jaswinder Singh, Rajesh Verma, Mohammad Azad, Lakshman Rohith Maradapa won the last silver for India in the men’s eight event.

The bronze medal winners for the country are Davinder Singh and Naveen Kumar Borraiya in men’s pairs and Dushyant in the leight weight men’s single sculls.

National coach Ismail Baig accompanied the team in the championships that started on September 24.