Follow Us:
Sunday, September 27, 2020

Shooters bag one gold,two silver; Gagan disappoints

Gagan Narang's gold-winning spree came to an end with a fifth place finish at the Karni Singh Shooting Range.

Written by Agencies | New Delhi | October 12, 2010 5:07:59 pm

Indian marksmen continued their stranglehold in the 19th Commonwealth Games winning one gold and two silver medals,even as Gagan Narang’s gold-winning spree came to an end with a fifth place finish at the Karni Singh Shooting Range here on Tuesday.

Heena Sidhu and Annu Raj Singh clinched the gold medal in women’s 10 metre air pistol pairs,while ‘Goldfinger’ Samresh Jung combined with Chandrasekhar Kumar Chaudhary to win silver in men’s 25-metre standard pistol pairs.

Tejaswini Sawant came up with her best showing in this edition to grab the silver medal in women’s 50m prone.

Partnering Hariom Singh,the ace shooter finished a disappointing fifth in 50-metre rifle prone event in an upset.

Scottish duo of Neil Stirton (592) and Jonathan Hammond (589) clinched the gold with a total of 1181.

England’s Mike Babb (591) and Richard Wilson (587) bagged the silver,Aussie duo of Warren Potent,who shot the best individual score of 594,and David Clifton (580) took the bronze.

Gagan was the second best individual scorer with 593 but his partner Hariom,suffering from bouts of viral fever with temperature hovering around 100,found it difficult to compete in the star-studded field.

With Tuesday’s haul,the Indian shooting contingent has exceeded their Melbourne tally (27 medals) and have three more events remaining.

The hosts now have 14 gold medals,10 silver and four bronze.

In Melbourne 2006,India had 16 gold,seven silver and four bronze medals.

Earlier in the day,it took the Indian marksman less than an hour to shoot three medals -¿ one gold and two silver – to continue their their dream run in the ongoing Games.

In the women’s 10m air pistol,India prevailed following some tense moments as both Australia and Canada competed on even keel.

After the final round,the three teams were tied on 759 points. There was more drama on cards as India and Australia shot 21 perfect 10s in the shoot-off but the hosts were adjudged winners on count-backs.

Canada took the bronze,shooting 14 perfect 10s.

In the event in which Tejaswini featured,Scotland’s Jen McIntosh won the gold with a Games record of 597. She broke the record of 590 set by Australian Carolyn Quigley and India’s Roopa Unnikrishnan at the 1998 Kuala Lumpur Games.

India’s first woman world champion Tejaswini clinched the silver after she shot 594,while Wales’ Johanne Brekke had to settle for the bronze with 593 points.

In the men’s 25m standard pistol,Jung (561) and Chaudhary (542) won the silver with a score of 1103.

Singapore’s Bin Gai (564) and Lip Meng Poh (552) won the gold medal after they totalled 1116 as they bronze went to England’s Michael Gault (554) and Iqbal Ubhi (544). Singapore’s Gai now has two gold,two silver and two bronze medals to his name.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.