India announce hockey squads for Rio Olympics; PR Sreejesh to lead men’s team

India's hockey squads for Rio Olympics that begin next month was announced in the capital on Tuesday.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: July 22, 2016 5:00:39 pm
India hockey squad, India hockey squad rio, india hockey squad olympics, india squad hockey, india hockey olympics, rio olympics hockey, sardar singh, ritu rani, hockey India’s squad for Rio Olympics was announced on Tuesday. (Source: Reuters)

India’s 16-member squad for Rio Olympics was announced on Tuesday afternoon in New Delhi by Hockey India president Narinder Batra.

India’s forward line will be held by Rani Rampal with Deepika named vice-captain. Sushila Chanu will captain the team in the absence of Ritu Rani who had already left the preparatory camp after there was no improvement in her performance and had attitude issues as per the staff.

In the men’s department, PR Sreejesh will be in goal – as expected – and will lead the side with SV Sunil the vice captain. Sardar Singh has relinquished the role of captain.

WATCH VIDEO: Idea Exchange With Sardar Singh, Captain Of The India Hockey Team

On a disappointing note though, Birendra Lakra misses with an injury which was confirmed earlier.

Women’s squad: Savita (GK), Navjot Kaur (midfielder), Deep Grace Ekka (defender), Monika (midfielder), Anuradha Devi (forward), Poonam Rani (forward), Vandana Kataria (forward), Deepika (vice-captain and defender), Namita Toppo (defender), Renuka Yadav (midfielder), Sunita Lakra (defender), Sushila Chanu (captain and defender), Rani Rampal (forward), Preeti Dubey (forward), Lilima Minz (midfielder), Nikki Pradhan (forward).

On standby: Rajani Etimarpu & H. Lalruat Feli

Men’s squad: PR Sreejesh (captain and GK), Harmanpreet Singh (defender), Rupinder Pal Singh (defender), Kothajit Singh (defender), Surendar Kumar (defender), Manpreet Singh (midfielder), Sardar Singh (midfielder), VR Raghunath (defender), SK Uthappa (midfielder), Danish Mujtaba (midfielder), Devender Walmiki (midfielder), SV Sunil (forward and vice-captain), Akashdeep Singh (forward), Chinglensana Singh (midfielder), Ramandeep Singh (forward), Nikkin Thimmaiah (forward).

On standby: Pardeep Mor, Vikas Dahiya

Present on the occasion were FIH president Leandro Negre and newly appointed Sports Minister Vijay Goel with BJP president Amit Shah as the chief guest.

The men’s team is placed in Group B with Argentina, Canada, Germany, Ireland and Netherlands.

The women are also in Group B with Argentina, Australia, Great Britain, Japan and United States.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.