Follow Us:
Thursday, May 28, 2020

Pro Kabaddi League 2019 Highlights: U Mumba, Bengaluru Bulls notch first wins

Pro Kabaddi League 2019 Highlights: The reigning champions, Bengaluru Bulls made the perfect start by winning against Patna Pirates.

By: Sports Desk | Updated: July 20, 2019 9:55:32 pm
Pro Kabaddi 2019 Highlights: The opening day saw U Mumba and Bengaluru Bulls come up as winners.

Pro Kabaddi 2019 Highlights: In the opening day of the seventh edition of Pro Kabaddi League, U Mumba and Bengaluru Bulls made their mark by winning their respective games at the Gachibowli Indoor Stadium in Hyderabad.

In the opening game, U Mumba dominated Telugu Titans throughout as they defeated the home team by 31-25. That result, was followed up by a clash between the reigning champions and the three-time-winners, Patna Pirates. Bengaluru Bulls made the perfect start in defending their title by defeating Pardeep Narwal’s Pirates by 34-32.

Live Blog

Pro Kabaddi League 2019 Highlights:

21:53 (IST)20 Jul 2019
In a brief

Pardeep Narwal registered a Super 10 and got good support from Mohammad Esmaeil however, their defense leaked points at crucial junctures. On the other hand, Bengaluru Bulls executed multiple super tackles to tilt the game in their favor. Pawan Sehrawat scored 9 points in the raiding department whereas defender Amit Sheoran completed his High 5. 

21:46 (IST)20 Jul 2019
Bengaluru Bulls beat Patna Pirates

Rohit crosses the baulk line and returns with an empty raid. The defending champions have beaten the 3-time champs 34-32 in the 2nd match of the day. 

21:42 (IST)20 Jul 2019
Patna Pirates 28-32 Bengaluru Bulls

Bengaluru Bulls have taken down Pardeep Narwal again. The Bulls are protecting their lead in a brilliant manner. Patna are fighting the Bulls and the clock here. Patna Pirates 28-32 Bengaluru Bulls

21:30 (IST)20 Jul 2019
Patna Pirates 24-24 Bengaluru Bulls

Just 6 minutes into the game and both the teams are standing 24-24. What a close game! Pawan Sehrawat gets a point and suddenly Bengaluru Bulls are back level and all the momentum is with the defending champions now. Patna Pirates 24-24 Bengaluru Bulls

21:22 (IST)20 Jul 2019
Bengaluru inch closer

Another super tackle for the Bulls! This time the defense takes down Pardeep. Bengaluru reduce the lead to 4.

21:13 (IST)20 Jul 2019
Top scorers

Top Scorers of the First Half -
Mohammad Esmaeil - 5
Pardeep Narwal - 5
Rohit Kumar - 4

21:13 (IST)20 Jul 2019
Patna Pirates lead in first half

Last raid of the first half and Pardeep gets a bonus point. Patna Pirates finish the half with 17 points while Bengaluru are 4 points behind their opponents.  Begaluru Bulls 13-17 Patna Pirates

21:10 (IST)20 Jul 2019
Close contest continues

Pardeep Narwal has been super tackled! Brave brave defending from Bengaluru Bulls! Narwal is out now and the Bulls have got men back now and have closed in on points.

Patna Pirates 9-10 Bengaluru Bulls

20:52 (IST)20 Jul 2019
The Bulls already make a mark

Last year's MVP, Pawan Sehrawat opens his account in PKL 2019 with a touch point. Bengaluru get a 2-0 lead against Patna Pirates.

20:50 (IST)20 Jul 2019
The second match is underway

The second match is between Bengaluru Bulls and Patna Pirates. Rohit Kumar and Pawan Sehrawat's team would look to get a win on back of their title-winning season. 

20:39 (IST)20 Jul 2019
U Mumba beat Telugu Titans

So the first match of the Pro Kabaddi League season 7 has been won by U Mumba. They beat Telugu Titans by 25-31.  U Mumba WIN! A fantastic display from the defense and Abhishek Singh's Super 10 help the Mumbai-based franchise register their first points on the table. Telugu Titans lost the match by 6 points which means even they will get 1 point from this match. 

20:34 (IST)20 Jul 2019
It's 23-30 now

Telugu Titans complete a super tackle! Arjun Deshwal tried his best but could not cross the line. 23-30

20:28 (IST)20 Jul 2019
Telugu Titans 19-27 U Mumba

Fazel Atrachali adds one more tackle point to his name. Farhad proved to be helpless against his Iranian compatriot.

20:21 (IST)20 Jul 2019
Timeout taken

A timeout has been taken. Telugu Titans are trailing by 8 points. If Siddharth Desai gets his mojo back, then the Titans can register their first win of the season.

20:19 (IST)20 Jul 2019
U Mumba take 10-point lead

With the game is just 9 minute away, U Mumba have taken a huge lead of 10 points.

20:14 (IST)20 Jul 2019
Telugu Titans all out again!

Telugu Titans ALL OUT! 2nd all-out of the day, both inflicted by U Mumba. Rajnish gets a bonus but a team tackle ensures that he does not get a touch point. 13-24.

20:07 (IST)20 Jul 2019
Some confusion at the middle!

The umpires feel that only 6 U Mumba players should be on the mat however, Fazel feels there should be 7. Telugu Titans 11-19 U Mumbai and REVIEW SUCCESSFUL for U Mumba! Athul MS is back on the court.

20:03 (IST)20 Jul 2019
A review!

Do-or-die raid! Rajnish tries to take the bonus, but the umpires reject his plea. Telugu Titans have asked for a review and it's a SUCCESSFUL REVIEW for Telugu Titans! Bonus point awarded to Rajnish

20:01 (IST)20 Jul 2019
Top Scorers of the First Half -

Abhishek Singh - 5
Rajnish - 4
Rohit Baliyan - 2

19:55 (IST)20 Jul 2019
U Mumba dominate the first half

So at the end of first half, U Mumba are ahead by 17-10. They have shown a brilliant show of the game. What an electrifying start of the season.