Lewis Hamilton wins Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Nico Rosberg wins maiden championshiphttps://indianexpress.com/article/sports/motor-sport/lewis-hamilton-wins-abu-dhabi-grand-prix-nico-rosberg-wins-maiden-championship-4398433/

Lewis Hamilton wins Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Nico Rosberg wins maiden championship

Nico Rosberg won his first Formula One world title despite Lewis Hamilton winning his fourth Abu Dhabi Grand Prix title.

Lewis Hamilton controlled the race from the front but was under instruction from Mercedes management. (Source: AP)

Lewis Hamilton won the Abu Dhabi  Grand Prix on Sunday, his landmark 52nd career win, but failed to win his fourth championship title as he needed Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg to finish below third. Mercedes duo finished with 385 and 380 points, respectively.

Hamilton won his third Abu Dhabi Grand Prix in five years on Sunday, bolting from pole position and cruising to an easy win but was denied to defend his championship title by Rosberg, after the German finished second.

Hamilton, who won the title in 2008, 2014 and 2015, crossed the line 0.439 seconds ahead of Rosberg to anchor champions Mercedes to a eighth one-two finish of the season.

Rosberg, who became the 33rd Formula One World Champion, did doughnut spins on the pit straight before climbing on to the nose of the car to take the cheers from the crowd.