Follow Us:
Saturday, January 23, 2021

IPL 2019, SRH vs MI Highlights: Alzarri Joseph’s 6/12 takes Mumbai to victory

IPL 2019, SRH vs MI Highlights: Alzarri Joseph's stunning 6/12 on debut helped Mumbai Indian beat Sunrisers Hyderabad convincingly on Saturday.

By: Sports Desk | Updated: April 7, 2019 3:33:36 am
IPL 2019, SRH vs MI Highlights: MI dominated the powerplay overs against SRH. (AP Photo)

IPL 2019, SRH vs MI Highlights: Alzarri Joseph’s stunning 6/12 on debut helped Mumbai Indian beat Sunrisers Hyderabad convincingly on Saturday. Batting on a slow surface MI scored 136/7 and in reply, SRH folded for 96 as Joseph wreaked havoc in Hyderabad. MI won the match comfortably by 40 runs.


Mumbai Indians are on a roll after beating SRH and ending CSK’s winning run in their previous match. They are now at number four in the points table. They are without Lasith Malinga but Joseph has proven to be an able replacement.

Indian Premier League, 2019Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad 23 January 2021

Sunrisers Hyderabad 96 (17.4)


Mumbai Indians 136/7 (20.0)

Match Ended ( Day - Match 19 ) Mumbai Indians beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 40 runs

Live Blog

IPL 2019, SRH vs MI: Highlights

23:30 (IST)06 Apr 2019
Alzarri take Mumbai to victory

ALL OVER! MI win by 40 runs. A dream debut for Alzarri as he picks up his 6th wicket. His figures of 6/12 are the best bowling figures in the history of the IPL. His spell- 3.4 overs 1 maiden 16 dots 12 runs 6 wickets. sRH are bowled out for 96- their lowest total in IPL history.

23:23 (IST)06 Apr 2019

5-WKT HAUL ON DEBUT FOR ALZARRI JOSEPH! WOW. Bhuvneshwar is gone for 2. SRH- 95/9

23:16 (IST)06 Apr 2019
Alzarri Joseph again

WICKET! Alzarri Joseph gets Rashid Khan for a first ball duck- pace, bounce and it is too much for Rashid! Gone for a duck! Alzarri Joseph's spell: 3-1-7-4 | SRH- 89/7

23:12 (IST)06 Apr 2019

BOWLED! Hooda is gone for 20. What a debut Alzarri Joseph is having- his 3rd wicket of the evening. Only 7 runs conceded. Strategic timeout taken. Hyderabad need 49 runs in 26 balls. SRH- 88/6

23:06 (IST)06 Apr 2019
Impressive Chahar

Excellent four overs from Rahul Chahar. He mixed attacking slow speeds and flighted balls with more defensive faster speeds and shorter lengths - he combined attack and defence expertly. His spell- 21/2 in 4 overs.  SRH- 84/5, 15 ovs | Hyderabad need 53 runs in 30 balls

22:52 (IST)06 Apr 2019

Another one goes down! This time it is Yusuf Pathan who departs for a duck! SRH have lost half their side with the score on 62. Rahul Chahar picks up the wicket. He has been really impressive tonight. This time uses the overspin to counter Pathan's sweep and it does the trick. Hyderabad needs 75 runs in 52 balls.

22:49 (IST)06 Apr 2019

OUT! Manish Pandey is gone for 16. A safe catch for Rohit Sharma. The pressure finally got to him Jason Behrendorff strikes. SRH- 61/4

22:37 (IST)06 Apr 2019

Alzarri Joseph is the second bowler to bag a wicket-maiden in his very first IPL over. Pat Cummins from Australia is the other player to achieve this rare feat.

22:30 (IST)06 Apr 2019
Alzarri Joseph strikes again

OUT! Debutant Alzarri Joseph has got his second wicket in the form of Vijay Shankar. He hurries Shankar with his extra pace to bag his second. SRH- 42/3

22:25 (IST)06 Apr 2019

Dropped! Another sitter goes down and this time the culprit is Pollard-Manish Pandey gets a reprieve on 0.  Are the extra pair of lights at the ground creating a problem for the fielders? Powerplay Ends! SRH- 39/2

22:21 (IST)06 Apr 2019

BOWLED! Debutant Alzarri Joseph has got rid of the dangerous Warner. Both the SRH openers are back in the dugout. SRH - 33/2, 4.1 ovs

22:21 (IST)06 Apr 2019

Bairstow falls for 16. The first time SRH lose a wicket in the powerplay this season. SRH-33/1

Bairstow has been dismissed by a leg spinner in each of his innings this season.

v DC - Tewatia
v RCB - Chahal
v RR - Gopal
v KKR - Chawla
v MI - Chahar

22:07 (IST)06 Apr 2019
SRH motor ahead

Low full toss from Bumrah. Warner takes two followed a single off the last ball to keep the strike. SRH - 14/0, 2 overs

22:02 (IST)06 Apr 2019
SRH resume

Warner and Bairstow are at the crease. Warner is on strike. Behrendorff will open the attack. A four of the last ball and SRH are 8-0 after 1 over.

21:43 (IST)06 Apr 2019
MI- 136/7 after 20 ovs

19 came off the last over. Pollard's cameo has given Mumbai something to bowl at. Pollard's power-hitting (46* off 26) was simply spectacular as 56 runs came off the last 4 overs. SRH look dejected. MI- 136/7 after 20 ovs

21:42 (IST)06 Apr 2019

Nabi puts it down and Kieron Pollard gets another maximum! Mumbai are getting the momentum they need. Then a four. WOW! Pollard is turning it on.

21:38 (IST)06 Apr 2019

Kaul is hit for a six by Pollard. He follows it up by a yorker wide outside the off stump. No-ball, Siddharth Kaul. More importantly, KP will face the freehit. And it is out of the ground! 20 came off the over. MI- 117/7.

21:28 (IST)06 Apr 2019

Pandya hits a six off the first ball of Rashid's over and then sweeps straight to deep midwicket off the third. That is a big blow, Pandya is the in form batsmen for MI. 

21:20 (IST)06 Apr 2019
Into the last five overs

MI only have 76 on board but it is Hardik and Pollard in the middle. It means they can still post a competitive total and if the pitch has something in it for pacers, which is what seems like the case at the moment, Jason Benhrendorff and Jasprit Bumrah can make things happen. 

21:11 (IST)06 Apr 2019
RUN OUT! Ishan Kishan

It looked Jonny Bairstow had hit the stumps prematurely while trying to catch the ball as Ishan Kishan struggles to make his ground. But replays show that Bairtstow had managed to uproot the stumps before Ishan had managed to cross the crease. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Jonny Bairstow (wk), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (c), David Warner, Vijay Shankar, Manish Pandey, Deepak Hooda, Yusuf Pathan, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Siddarth Kaul, T Natarajan, K Khaleel Ahmed, Billy Stanlake, Basil Thampi, Abhishek Sharma, Shakib Al Hasan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Martin Guptill, Wriddhiman Saha, Shreevats Goswami, Ricky Bhui, Kane Williamson

Mumbai Indians: Quinton de Kock (wk), Rohit Sharma (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Yuvraj Singh, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Rahul Chahar, Mitchell McClenaghan, Jasprit Bumrah, Jason Behrendorff, Ishan Kishan, Anmolpreet Singh, Aditya Tare, Siddhesh Lad, Evin Lewis, Pankaj Jaiswal, Anukul Roy, Ben Cutting, Mayank Markande, Barinder Sran, Rasikh Salam, Jayant Yadav, Alzarri Joseph