Follow Us:
Monday, March 30, 2020

SRH vs CSK Buildup highlights: Suresh Raina leads CSK in Dhoni’s absence

SRH vs CSK Buildup highlights: MS Dhoni is missing an IPL match for CSK for the first time since 2010.

By: Sports Desk | Updated: April 18, 2019 10:10:10 am
IPL 2019, SRH vs CSK LIVE SRH vs CSK Buildup highlights: Sunrisers Hyderabad will host Chennai Super Kings. (AP Photo)

SRH vs CSK Buildup highlights: Previous season’s runners up Sunrisers Hyderabad, who have lost their previous three encounters, will look to return to winning ways when they host Chennai Super Kings at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on Wednesday. The team will once again rely heavily on the opening pair of David Warner and Jonny Bairstow as the other SRH batsmen have flopped miserably in the season so far. The team is currently placed sixth on the points table with three wins and a defeat tonight will put the franchise under tremendous pressure to make it to the PlayOffs.


Defending champions Chennai are in supreme form and are just one win away from securing a berth in the Playoffs. The MS Dhoni-led side are currently leading the charts with seven wins in eight matches. The former India skipper has tried various combinations in the season depending on surfaces and more often than not, his teammates have responded pretty well.

Live Blog

SRH vs CSK Buildup highlights:


    20:17 (IST)17 Apr 2019
    Sunrisers Hyderabad

    David Warner, Jonny Bairstow, , Kane Williamson, Vijay Shankar, Yusuf Pathan, Deepak Hooda, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaaz Nadeem

    19:39 (IST)17 Apr 2019
    Chennai Super Kings

    Faf du Plessis, Shane Watson, Suresh Raina (Capt), Ambati Rayudu, Sam Billings, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Karn Sharma, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Imran Tahir

    19:39 (IST)17 Apr 2019
    The teams

    Sam Billings will be keeping the wickets for CSK. This is the first time since 2010 that Dhoni is not leading CSK and he is out with a back spasm. Yusuf Pathan and Shahbaz Nadeem return for SRH. 

    19:31 (IST)17 Apr 2019
    CSK win the toss, elect to bat first

    An unusual decision from Suresh Raina, Kane Williamson says that he would have chosen to bat first too. Dhoni was only playing football on the sidelines while the rest of the team were warming up. This is only the fourth time that CSK will be playing an IPL match without Dhoni. 

    19:30 (IST)17 Apr 2019
    Just over five minutes to the toss

    The players are out there, going through their motions. Suresh Raina has the team sheet in his hand, which means MS Dhoni could be sitting out today. 

    18:35 (IST)17 Apr 2019
    The death overs

    These two sides have some of the best death over operators. Usually, SRH might just pip CSK in the bowling department in this area but this is an unusual season for today's home side. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rashid Khan and co. have slacked off a bit over the past few matches and they would do well to get their act together when bowling against the likes of MS Dhoni and Kedar Jadhav. 

    17:13 (IST)17 Apr 2019

    Rayudu, depending on how you look at the situation, "won the internet" and "acted like a crybaby" with a post that alluded to the 3D nature of his snub from the World Cup squad. But the BCCI will not take any action on him, admitting that emotions may be running high at this moment and he needed an outlet for his frustration.

    16:39 (IST)17 Apr 2019
    Fragile middle-order haunt SRH

    The basic problem for Sunrisers Hyderabad has been the fragile middle-order. Manish Pandey has scored 54 runs in six matches, Deepak Hooda has scored 47 and Yusuf Pathan has scored 32 in the same number of matches.

    16:34 (IST)17 Apr 2019
    Previous playing XIs

    SRH XI vs DC: David Warner, Jonny Bairstow, Kane Williamson, Ricky Bhui, Vijay Shankar, Deepak Hooda, Abhishek Sharma, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sandeep Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed.

    CSK XI vs KKR: Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Mitchell Santner, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur.

    15:45 (IST)17 Apr 2019
    Imran Tahir, the player to watch out for

    The man who has been a revelation for CSK this season is 40-year-old Imran Tahir with 13 wickets. The South African import has executed his skipper's plans brilliantly. 

    15:00 (IST)17 Apr 2019
    Ambati Rayudu in focus

    Having missed the World Cup bus, Ambati Rayudu will be aiming to make a statement when a marauding Chennai Super Kings take on a desperate Sunrisers Hyderabad in an IPL encounter here on Wednesday. The World Cup snub to Rayudu is the sole disappointment in an otherwise superb tournament so far for Mahendra Singh Dhoni's men as they are just a win away from clinching the playoff berth. 


    14:27 (IST)17 Apr 2019
    Lions prepping up for the Orange Challenge

    Chennai Super Kings players toiling ahead of their clash against Sunrisers

    13:54 (IST)17 Apr 2019
    Murali and Moody on SRH vs CSK

    It's the Southern Derby and here's what Muttiah Muralitharan and Tom Moody have to say before the all-important SRH vs CSK

    13:14 (IST)17 Apr 2019
    Cricket Extra by Vijay and Rashid

    Afghan cricketer Rashid Khan and allrounder Vijay Shankar travel through the streets of Hyderabad.

    13:00 (IST)17 Apr 2019
    What happened last night

    Skipper R Ashwin takes two wickets after hitting a breezy 17 off 4 to help Kings XI Punjab move into top-4 of IPL standings. [READ MORE]

    12:02 (IST)17 Apr 2019

    High flying Chennai Super Kings face Sunrisers Hyderabad who come into the match with three back to back defeats. [READ]

    11:42 (IST)17 Apr 2019
    Hello and Welcome!

    Hello and welcome to the LIVE COVERAGE of the Indian Premier League match between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Chennai Super Kings at the  Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium.  While defending champions CSK are one victory away from securing a play-offs berth,  a struggling SRH side are desperately seeking for a win in order to keep their hopes alive to finish at the top four. Stay tuned for updates related to IPL.  


    SRH: David Warner, Jonny Bairstow (WK), Kane Williamson (C), Vijay Shankar, Yusuf Pathan, Deepak Hooda, Abhishek Sharma, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Siddharth Kaul

    CSK: Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (C & WK), Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mitchell Santner, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Imran Tahir