scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Wednesday, October 21, 2020

‘It’s time BCCI introduces new rules’: Preity Zinta on controversial short-run call

Preity Zinta called out to BCCI to implement new rules in the sport, so errors like this are avoided in the near future.

By: Sports Desk | Updated: September 21, 2020 7:50:23 pm
Kings XI Punjab co-owner Preity Zinta reacts to Chris Jordan's short run call.

Delhi Capitals all-rounder Marcus Stoinis emerged as the standout player in their opening clash against Kings XI Punjab on Sunday. After saving his side with the bat, Stonis bowled a brilliant final over and defended one run in the last three deliveries of the match. The match also featured a resilient knock by Indian batsman Mayank Agarwal, scoring 89 from 60 deliveries.

However, a glaring call by umpire Nitin Menon subsided the brilliance of both the players and many took to social media to point it out. Kings XI co-owner Preity Zinta also seemed furious with the decision and the Bollywood actress took to Twitter to share her insights on the incident. In her tweet, Zinta called out to BCCI asking the board to implement new rules in the sport, so these errors are avoided in the near future.

Explained: Why IPL third umpire couldn’t overturn the ‘short run’ decision against KXIP’s Chris Jordan

“I travelled enthusiastically during a pandemic,did 6 days of Quarantine & 5covid tests with a smile but that one Short Run hit me hard. What’s the point of technology if it cannot be used? It’s time @BCCI introduces new rules. This cannot happen every year,” she wrote in a tweet.

Preity was reacting to Virender Sehwag’s tweet which said that he should have been awarded the Man of the Match for his short-run decision. Sehwag’s former teammates Irfan Pathan and Aakash Chopra also shared similar opinion regarding the decision.

IPL 2020: Collapses to Super Over, it’s all happening in Dubai

The incident took place in the third delivery of the 19th over, when Menon standing at square-leg adjudged a double taken by Mayank as invalid. Only one run was counted to KXIP’s total as the umpire felt Chris Jordan didn’t tap his bat behind the crease while completing the first run.

However, TV replays depicted a different story, showing that Jordan had completed the run properly. This one run later proved to be crucial as KXIP suffered a loss after the contest was pushed into the Super Over.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement