Delhi Capitals beat Kings XI Punjab in the first Super Over of IPL 2020 on Sunday. Marcus Stoinis’ starred with both bat and ball to help his side get over the finishing line. For KXIP, Mayank Agarwal (89 off 60 balls) nearly pulled it off but Stoinis became the point of difference with his brilliant last over where he defended 13 runs. Stoinis forced the game into the Super Over by dismissing Agarwal and Jordan off the last two balls as Punjab finished on the same score as Delhi- 157/8.
However, a moment of controversy in the second last over of Punjab’s run-chase has now evoked questions that should the match have gone into a Super Over at all.
It all happened when the third ball of Rabada’s over, a full-toss outside off, was sliced away towards the extra cover region by Agarwal for a quick couple.
But on-field umpire Nitin Menon deemed it as a single, on the basis that the first run was a short one. Replays showed otherwise and indicated that the call was a dubious one. This did not go unnoticed by fans, experts, and former cricketers who vented their ire at the decision.
“I don’t agree with the man of the match choice . The umpire who gave this short run should have been man of the match. Short Run nahin tha. And that was the difference.” wrote former India cricketer Virender Sehwag.
I don’t agree with the man of the match choice . The umpire who gave this short run should have been man of the match.
Short Run nahin tha. And that was the difference. #DCvKXIP pic.twitter.com/7u7KKJXCLb
— Virender Sehwag (@virendersehwag) September 20, 2020
Former India seamer Irfan Pathan also aired his views on the same-
What abt that one short run call???? #IPL2020
— Irfan Pathan (@IrfanPathan) September 20, 2020
— Scott Styris (@scottbstyris) September 20, 2020
“Why can’t we reverse the match result considering short run correction when we all have damn evidences and technology in place. There is still a room to correct it in the spirit of game. Kindly reverse the match result,” wrote a distraught ( KXIP fan) Jaskaran Singh on social media.
Replays do reveal that this was a clear umpiring error at the end of the 18th over. The batsman had indeed reached his ground, but the umpire gave a run short and in hindsight probably cost KXIPP their game.
📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines