Follow Us:
Tuesday, September 29, 2020

KXIP vs RR, IPL 2019 Highlights: KXIP beat RR by 12 runs

KXIP vs RR, IPL 2019 Highlights: Ravichandran Ashwin and KL Rahul were the standout performers as Kings XI Punjab condemned Rajasthan Royals to their sixth defeat of the season.

By: Sports Desk | Updated: April 17, 2019 7:05:06 pm
KXIP vs RR, IPL 2019 Highlights: RR won the toss and put KXIP to bat first. (Source: AP)

KXIP vs RR, IPL 2019 Highlights: Ravichandran Ashwin and KL Rahul were heroes of the day as Kings XI Punjab condemned Rajasthan Royals to a 12-run defeat. Batting first, KXIP set up a target of 52 off 47 balls while Ashwin scored 17 of four balls before taking two wickets in the RR innings. Jos Buttler was dismissed early but Rahul Tripathi, who opened the innings today, kept the chase on track alongwith Sanju Samson. Both were dismissed by Ashwin and after that, KXIP took control.


Australian Ashton Turner’s IPL debut ended with a first-ball naught, while Jofra Archer was sent back by Shami as RR slumped to 133 for five in 17.1 overs. Stuart Binny scored a quickfire 11-ball 33 but it was not enough as Rahane too was dismissed in pursuit of quick runs.

Indian Premier League, 2019Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali 30 September 2020

Kings XI Punjab 182/6 (20.0)


Rajasthan Royals 170/7 (20.0)

Match Ended ( Day - Match 32 ) Kings XI Punjab beat Rajasthan Royals by 12 runs

Live Blog

KXIP vs RR, IPL 2019 Highlights: Follow in Bengali

23:39 (IST)16 Apr 2019
An excellent final over from Shami

A wicket and 8 runs from it and KXIP have won the match by 12 runs, which is exactly how much Ashwin had scored off the last two balls of their innings. 

23:34 (IST)16 Apr 2019
First two balls

Shreyas Gopal holes out at long on off the first ball but Binny gets on strike. The second ball is a yorker angled on leg stump that Binny digs out. Dot ball. 

23:33 (IST)16 Apr 2019
KXIP need 23 to win off 6

And Binny has scored 23 off 6 so far. He has gone ballistic and RR must be thinking why he wasn't sent out earlier. But Binny is off strike, Shami is bowling the last over. 

23:31 (IST)16 Apr 2019

That has to be the game. An offcutter from Arshdeep, third man runs all the way to the boundary to complete the catch. That is good work from Shami on the field. 

23:25 (IST)16 Apr 2019
18 overs gone

It is all down to captain Rahane now. He has Stuart Binny at the other end to give him company, who does know how to swing a bat. He has 10 First Class hundreds to his name, but if RR have to win this game, Rahane has to take the lead. 

23:21 (IST)16 Apr 2019

They are doing it again, RR are a-tumblin'.  Archer goes after a short delivery with a lot of bowler but cannot get the timing quit on. It goes straight down the throat of long-on. 

23:15 (IST)16 Apr 2019

Golden duck on debut for Ashton Turner. He did face a wide delivery before this. Murugan Ashwin baits him with a slow tossed up legbreak and Turner bites. Hit hits the ball straight to long off. 

23:14 (IST)16 Apr 2019
WICKET! And Tripathi falls

He holes out at long off and Ashwin punches the air. This is an inspired performance from the KXIP captain. 

23:11 (IST)16 Apr 2019
50 for Tripathi

He almost got stumped on 49. Tripathi charged down the track and Ashwin slid the ball wide. Tripathi could not reach it and Pooran took the bails off, Tripathi dove back managed to make his ground. 

23:04 (IST)16 Apr 2019
13 overs gone

RR need 66 to win from 36 balls. Rahane and Tripathi are in the middle. The opening position suits Tripathi well, he is now four runs off his half century. 

22:51 (IST)16 Apr 2019
OUT! And Ashwin does strike!

Sanju Samson absolutely bamboozled there. Ashwin puts it on the off side, Samson goes for the sweep but the ball skids past him and hits the off stump. 

22:50 (IST)16 Apr 2019
Halfway through

The run rate has slowed down in the 9th and 10th overs with the introduction of spin and with that, the required rate climbs. This is exactly the time of the match when Ashwin normally strikes. 

22:41 (IST)16 Apr 2019
9 overs gone

Sanju Samson and Rahul Tripathi keepings things floating for the Royals. They need 98 to win from 66 balls. 

22:26 (IST)16 Apr 2019
OUT! Buttler goes

Arshdeep Singh's first wicket is none other than Jos Buttler but credit for this wicket goes entirely to Nicholas Pooran. Buttler gets a leading edge that balloons high up in the air, Pooran runs back and dives to pouch it. 

22:19 (IST)16 Apr 2019
Four overs gone

A good start for the Royals and Buttler has powered it. He has scored 23 off 18 balls and Tripathi is on 8 off 8. 

22:02 (IST)16 Apr 2019
The players are back

Rahul Tripathi is Jos Buttler's opening partner today, not Ajinkya Rahane. 20-year-old Arshdeep Singh, who looks like he bunked school to play this match, is bowling the first over. 

21:46 (IST)16 Apr 2019
A big finish by skipper Ashwin

RR's good work in the death overs have been undone somewhat by Ashwin's belligerence. He lets the penultimate ball fly over midwicket an then scoops the last and KXIP set up a total of 182/6. 

21:40 (IST)16 Apr 2019
What an over from Archer

Archer's 19th over has been devastating for KXIP. Two wickets and three runs from it. The first wicket is off the second ball as Pooran holes out at covers. The second comes off the last as Mandeep Singh chops a short delivery on. 

21:30 (IST)16 Apr 2019
WICKET! Rahul falls

Unadkar roars in delight. He has been taken to all corners of the park by the batsmen today so this is a welcome wicket indeed. A yorker outside off that Rahul squirts fine and it travels striaght to short third man. Stunned silence around the ground as a very good innings comes to an end. 

21:06 (IST)16 Apr 2019

KL Rahul smashes a short delivery from Sodhi about 20 rows into the stands. KXIP have moved into three figures and this is a good partnership building between Rahul and David Miller. 

IPL 2019, KXIP vs RR Live Cricket Match Score Online:

Kings XI Punjab: Lokesh Rahul, Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, Nicholas Pooran(w), Sam Curran, Ravichandran Ashwin(c), Andrew Tye, Mohammed Shami, Murugan Ashwin, Karun Nair, David Miller, Simran Singh, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Ankit Rajpoot, Hardus Viljoen, Arshdeep Singh, Moises Henriques, Varun Chakravarthy, Darshan Nalkande, Agnivesh Ayachi, Harpreet Brar.

Rajasthan Royals: Ajinkya Rahane(c), Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson(w), Steven Smith, Rahul Tripathi, Liam Livingstone, Shreyas Gopal, Krishnappa Gowtham, Jofra Archer, Jaydev Unadkat, Dhawal Kulkarni, Prashant Chopra, Ben Stokes, Manan Vohra, Aryaman Birla, Stuart Binny, Shashank Singh, Shubham Ranjane, Ashton Turner, Riyan Parag, Mahipal Lomror, Ish Sodhi, Varun Aaron, Oshane Thomas, Sudhesan Midhun.