Follow Us:
Wednesday, December 02, 2020

IPL 2020, KKR vs KXIP Highlights: Mandeep, Gayle hand Punjab fifth straight win

IPL 2020, KKR vs KXIP Highlights: On the back of Mandeep Singh and Chris Gayle's fifties, Kings XI Punjab beat Kolkata Knight Riders by eight wickets to register their fifth straight win.

By: Sports Desk | Updated: October 27, 2020 7:53:49 am
IPL 2020, KKR vs KXIP Highlights: Kolkata Knight Riders vs Kings XI Punjab.

IPL 2020, KKR vs KXIP Live Cricket Score Online Updates: Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) moved to fourth in the standings after a comprehensive eight-wicket victory against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Monday.

In the first innings, KXIP maintained perfect line and length as they restricted Kolkata Knight Riders on 149/9 in 20 overs. Shubman Gill emerged as the leading scorer for KKR with a 57-run knock. Meanwhile, Mohammad Shami was the standout bowler, picking three wickets in his four-over quota. During the chase, Mandeep Singh (66*) and Chris Gayle (51) stitched a 100-run second-wicket partnership which guided KXIP to 150/2 in 18.5 overs.

IPL 2020

Match 46, Sharjah Cricket Stadium, 26 Oct, 2020

KXIP 150 / 2 (18.5)


KKR 149 / 9 (20.0)

Mandeep Singh66 56
Nicholas Pooran2 3
Pat Cummins4.0 31 0
Prasidh Krishna3.0 24 0

Kings XI Punjab win by 8 wickets

Live Blog

IPL 2020, KKR vs KXIP Highlights:

22:55 (IST)26 Oct 2020

After needing just three runs in twelve balls, Punjab seal the deal with seven balls to spare to register an eight-wicket victory. Mandeep Singh (66*) and Chris Gayle (51) guided KXIP to 150/2 in 18.5 overs to a fifth consecutive victory in the IPL. A statement win against KKR which lifts them to fourth in the standings. A very lacklustre performance from Kolkata overall. 

22:45 (IST)26 Oct 2020
Punjab just 14 runs away from a win

After Mandeep (55*) got a standing ovation for his half-century in the last over, Punjab try to go for the jugular. Gayle (50*) assumes the role of a finisher and just smacks Ferguson left and right with a four and a six. 14 needed now. KXIP: 136/1 (17 overs)

22:32 (IST)26 Oct 2020
KXIP need 37 off 30 balls

Gayle (38*) and Mandeep (45*) are looking to close this game early judging by their showing with the bat. Mandeep gets down low and lofts Varun's delivery inside-out over extra cover for a four. Punjab need 37 runs off 30 balls now. KXIP: 113/1 (15 overs)

22:20 (IST)26 Oct 2020
Mandeep, Gayle forming a good partnership

While Gayle is hitting them long and hard on the other side, Mandeep (33*) is choosing his shots carefully but he hits Ferguson off his very first ball for a cracking four. Gayle (25*) ends the over with another to the deep backward point. KXIP: 86/1 (12 overs)

22:13 (IST)26 Oct 2020
Gayle goes big twice

Gayle is at the crease, and no surprise the sixes start to rain! He takes it slow in his first over but in his second, he just hammers Varun's delivery over long-on. He follows it up with another on the next ball -- straight down the ground! KXIP: 67/1 (10 overs)

22:03 (IST)26 Oct 2020

KKR are trying to spin a web around the openers by introducing Varun and Narine... and the former does the trick! Two balls after being hit for a four by Rahul, Varun traps the KXIP captain between the wickets and sends him back on 28. KXIP: 47/1 (8 overs)

21:54 (IST)26 Oct 2020
KXIP on track

KXIP got off to a slow start, but Rahul (19*) and Mandeep (17*) have turned on the heat after hitting 27 in the last two overs. Morgan introduces Varun Chakravarthy into the attack and he bowls a tidy over conceding just two runs. KXIP: 36/0 (6 overs)

21:45 (IST)26 Oct 2020
Rahul gets his groove on

After a couple of economical overs, KKR falter in the fourth as Rahul (18*) takes on Prasidh and smacks him for two consecutive fours in the opening two balls. Mandeep is on the other side on 3* from 11 balls. Ten runs off the over. KXIP: 21/0 (4 overs)

21:32 (IST)26 Oct 2020
A tidy start from Cummins!
21:28 (IST)26 Oct 2020
The chase begins!

KL Rahul and Mandeep Singh come out in the middle to open the KXIP inning. Pat Cummins will lead the attack for KKR. 

21:13 (IST)26 Oct 2020
KXIP need 150 to win

Brilliant over by Chris Jordan as five runs and a wicket come in the 20th over. KKR finish on 149/9 with Shubman Gill emerging as the top-scorer for KKR. 

KXIP need 150 to win.  

21:07 (IST)26 Oct 2020
Shami gets the big wicket of Gill!

Mohammad Shami gets the big wicket of Shubman Gill. The batsman tried to hit it big but his shot goes straight in the hands of Nicholas Pooran at deep mid-wicket. He departs after scoring 57 from 45 balls. KKR: 144/8 (19 overs)

21:04 (IST)26 Oct 2020
2 overs to go!

Lockie Ferguson slams Chris Jordan for consecutive boundaries as KKR finally get a big over they have been looking for. 11 runs come from it as KKR reach 135/7 after 18 overs. 

20:56 (IST)26 Oct 2020
Pat Cummins is trapped LBW

Ravi Bishnoi removes Pat Cummins from the equation as he is trapped LBW on 1. KKR: 115/7 (16 overs)

20:47 (IST)26 Oct 2020
Murugan Ashwin gets his first wicket of the night

Murugan Ashwin gets his first wicket of the night. The bowler offered some flight and it gate right through the gates of Kamlesh Nagarkoti. KKR: 113/6 (14.2 overs)

20:45 (IST)26 Oct 2020
FIFTY for Shubman Gill!

While wickets kept tumbline at one end, Shubman Gill has remained firm on the other. The KKR opener brings up his FIFTY in 36 deliveries. His team would hope that Gill sticks around in the middle till the end? KKR: 113/5 (!4 overs) 

20:40 (IST)26 Oct 2020
7 overs to go!
20:32 (IST)26 Oct 2020
Chris Jordan silences Sunil Narine!

Chris Jordan takes the pace off the ball and pitches wide from the batsman. Narine tries to whack it on the off-side but in the end he drags the ball onto his stump. With this half of KKR is already back in the dugout with Gill standing tall. KKR: 101/5 (11 overs)

20:25 (IST)26 Oct 2020
Ravi Bishnoi breaks partnership between Morgan and Gill

Ravi Bishnoi breaks the 81-run partnership between Morgan and Gill. A tossed up ball on the pads and Morgan sweeps it straight to Murugan Ashwin at deep mid-wicket. He departs after scoring 40 from 25 balls as KKR lose their fourth wicket. KKR: 92/4 (10 overs) 

20:20 (IST)26 Oct 2020
4 dots in the over!


Kolkata Knight Riders: Eoin Morgan (c), Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Andre Russell, Kuldeep Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Pat Cummins, Varun Chakravarthy, Sunil Narine, Tom Banton, Siddhesh Lad, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Prasidh Krishna, Sandeep Warrior, Shivam Mavi, Rinku Singh, Chris Green, M Siddharth and Nikhil Naik.

Kings XI Punjab: KL Rahul (C), Harpreet Brar, Ishan Porel, Mandeep Singh, James Neesham, Tajinder Singh, Chris Jordan, Karun Nair, Deepak Hooda, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Glenn Maxwell, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Sarfaraz Khan, Sheldon Cottrell, Mayank Agarwal, Mohammed Shami, Darshan Nalkande, Nicholas Pooran, Chris Gayle, Murugan Ashwin, Jagadeesha Suchith, Krishnappa Gowtham, Hardus Viljoen, Simran Singh.