Follow Us:
Wednesday, February 24, 2021

IPL KXIP Team 2021 Players List: Punjab Kings (Kings XI Punjab) complete players list, full squad

IPL Punjab Kings (KXIP) Team Auction 2021 Players List, Squad: Kings XI Punjab full squad including sold and unsold players

By: Sports Desk |
Updated: February 23, 2021 4:32:16 pm
Punjab IPLThe KXIP managerial team at the 2020 IPL auction (IPL)

Starting the auction with a wallet of Rs 53.20 crore, Punjab Kings were expected to make some big moves in the market and they have not disappointed. They snapped up Aussie quick Jhye Richardson for Rs 14 crore, Moises Henriques for Rs 4.2 crore, Riley Meredith for Rs 8 crore and uncapped player Shahrukh Khan for Rs 5.25 crore.

Apart from the big splurges, they made some budget buys as well such as number one ranked T20 batsman Dawid Malan Rs 1.50 crore, Jalaj Saxena for Rs 30 lakh, Utkarsh Singh for Rs 20 lakh and all-rounder Saurabh Kumar for Rs 20 lakh.

The Punjab franchise has a formidable top order in KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal and Nicholas Pooran. The acquisition of Dawid Malan has only strengthened their batting. They would have wanted to get some firepower back into the team after having released Glenn Maxwell. This is the reason why they splurged the cash on the hard-hitting Shahrukh Khan.

Punjab Kings have snapped up yet another player at his base price. They have now bought uncapped India all-rounder Saurabh Kumar for Rs 20 lakh.

Punjab Kings are on a roll after the tea break. They have now bought West Indian power-hitting all-rounder Fabian Allen for Rs 75 lakh.

Punjab Kings have bought Jalaj Saxena for Rs 30 lakh and Utkarsh Singh for Rs 20 lakh. Saxena and Singh, who are right-arm off-break bowlers, can turn out to be good budget buys who will add to the squad depth of the franchise.

Punjab Kings have bought Moises Henriques for Rs 4.20 crore. The mercurial Australian all-rounder will add great depth to the Punjab franchise. His ability to bowl at the death will also be important. Henriques has 969 runs from 57 IPL matches at a batting average of 28.5. He also has 38 IPL wickets.

Punjab Kings have acquired Australian fast bowler Riley Meredith for Rs 8 crore. The pacer was the subject of an intense bidding battle between the Kings and Delhi Capitals but it was the Punjab franchise that prevailed in the end. Merdith has 43 wickets from 24 matches at an economy of 8.06 in T20s. The uncapped Aussie quick was one of the players to watch out for Hobart Hurricanes at the Big Bash League, where he bowled with electric pace and great control.

Punjab Kings have bought batsman Shahrukh Khan for Rs 5.25 crore. The uncapped right-handed batsman, who had a base price of Rs 20 lakh, attracted eyeballs recently for a swashbuckling 19-ball 40 in a quarterfinal match of the Syed Mushtag Ali Trophy. Khan’s big-hitting prowess can come in handly for the Punjab franchise this season.

Punjab Kings have bought fast bowler Jhye Richardson for Rs 14 crore. The Aussie pacer, who had a base price of Rs 1.50 crore, was expected to be sold for big bucks at the auction and lived up to the expectations. The speedster will add some much-needed firepower to the Punjab team.

Punjab Kings have acquired England batsman Dawid Malan for Rs 1.50 crore.  The left-hander, who is the number one ranked T20I batsman, was sold at his base price. Malan, who has 6,117 runs at an average of 31.39 in the shortest format of the game, is expected to strengthen the top order of Punjab Kings.

The Punjab franchise had started the auction day with Rs 53.20 crore in their wallet.

IPL Punjab Kings (KXIP) Team 2021 Players List: Punjab Kings (Kings XI Punjab) released Glenn Maxwell for the Indian Premier League 2021 edition, which is scheduled to be held between April and June. Also released by KXIP were West Indies all-rounder Sheldon Cottrell, Afghanistan’s Mujeeb-ur-Rahman and New Zealand’s Jimmy Neesham, who underwent a surgery recently to treat an injured finger.

Kings XI Punjab saw an exponential rise from Rs 16.5 crore to Rs 53.2 crore

List of players retained– KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Nicholas Pooran, Mandeep Singh, Sarfaraz Khan, Deepak Hooda, Prabhsimran Singh, Mohammed Shami, Chris Jordan, Darshan Nalkande, Ravi Bishnoi, Murugan Ashwin, Arshdeep Singh, Harpreet Brar, Ishan Porel

List of players released- Glenn Maxwell, Karun Nair, Hardus Viljoen, Jagadeesha Suchith, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Sheldon Cottrell, Jimmy Neesham, Krishnappa Gowtham, Tajinder Singh.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.