Follow Us:
Thursday, October 22, 2020

IPL 2020, SRH vs KXIP: Pooran powers to 17-ball 50, Bairstow blitzkrieg, Bishnoi bamboozles

IPL 2020, SRH vs KXIP: Jonny Bairstow smashed 97 off just 55 balls. Ravi Bishnoi (3/29) removed both Bairstow and Warner in the space of three balls.

By: PTI | Updated: October 9, 2020 10:19:28 am
ipl, ipl 2020, srh vs kxip, bairstow, bishnoiNicholas Pooran, Jonny Bairstow and Ravi Bishnoi were the top performers in the match. (BCCI/IPL)

IPL 2020, SRH vs KXIP:  Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Kings XI Punjab by 69 runs in an Indian Premier League match on Thursday. Jonny Bairstow made 97 while skipper David Warner scored 52 to lay the foundation for SRH total. For KXIP, Ravi Bishnoi picked up three wickets while giving away 29 runs.

Chasing the imposing 202-run target, Nicholas Pooran made 77 off 37 balls but didn’t get enough support from the other end as KXIP were bowled out for 132 in 16.5 overs.

Rashid Khan was the pick of the bowlers for SRH with figures of 3 for 12 from his four overs.

Earlier, Kings XI Punjab made a brilliant comeback in the final five overs by taking six wickets but a 160-run opening stand between Jonny Bairstow and David Warner still took Sunrisers Hyderabad to an imposing 201/6.

Bairstow smashed 97 off just 55 balls — during which he hit seven fours and six sixes — while Warner made 52 off 40 balls as KXIP bowlers did not have a clue how to get a breakthrough till the 15th over.

At that stage, SRH were 160 for no loss.

Leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi (3/29) then removed both Bairstow and Warner in the space of three balls in the 16th over before Arshdeep Singh (2/33) dismissed Manish Pandey for 1 in the next over to trigger a brilliant turnaround.

For a team which has been leaking a lot of runs in the death overs, it was a welcome change for KXIP to concede just 41 runs in the last five overs and take six wickets in the process. But the flying start provided by Bairstow and Warner ensured SRH cross the 200-run mark.

Kane Williamson remained not out on 20 off 10 balls.

Bairstow was dropped on 19 in the fifth over by KXIP skipper KL Rahul off the bowling of Mohammed Shami and he made them pay for the mistake.

He was clearly the dominant partner of the opening duo, reaching his fifty in 28 balls in the 10th over at the end of which SRH were 100 for no loss. This was his third half-century of the season in his sixth match.

Warner reached his third fifty of the tournament in the 14th over but got out in the first ball of the 16th over when he miscued a slog sweep to Glenn Maxwell at long-on off Bishnoi.

Three balls later, Bairstow departed after Rahul opted to review the field umpire’s decision and the third umpire ruled the England wicketkeeper-batsman out LBW.

Earlier, Sunrisers Hyderabad captain David Warner won the toss and opted to bat in their IPL match against Kings XI Punjab on Thursday. SRH made one change, bringing in Khaleel Ahmed in place of Siddarth Kaul.

KXIP made three changes with Prabhsimran Singh, Arshdeep Singh and Mujeeb Ur-Rahman coming in place of Chris Jordan, Harpreet Brar and Sarfaraz Khan.

The Teams:

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (c), Jonny Bairstow (wk), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Priyam Garg, Abhishek Sharma, Abdul Samad, Rashid Khan, Sandeep Sharma, K Khaleel Ahmed, T Natarajan.

Kings XI Punjab: KL Rahul (c), Mayank Agarwal, Mandeep Singh, Nicholas Pooran(wk), Simran Singh, Glenn Maxwell, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Mohammed Shami, Sheldon Cottrell.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.