Follow Us:
Thursday, June 17, 2021

IPL 2020 final: In the ring of fire, a Rohit Sharma special & MI’s five-star victory

Rohit Sharma smashed a fluent 68 as Mumbai Indians cruised to their fifth Indian Premier League title.

Written by Rahul Sadhu |
Updated: November 11, 2020 1:56:32 pm
ipl 2020, rohit sharmaRohit Sharma's Mumbai Indians are crowned champions of IPL 2020. (BCCI/IPL)

Rohit Sharma led Mumbai Indians to an unprecedented five Indian Premier League (IPL) titles after beating Delhi Capitals on Tuesday. With this win, Mumbai broke their odd-number jinx and became the first team to win consecutive IPL trophies since CSK in 2010 and 2011. En-route, Rohit also became the first captain to score two-fifties in IPL final’s history.

Rohit’s Midas touch worked from the start when he made the ‘tactical’ move of including off-spinner Jayant Yadav in the playing XI to tackle Delhi’s long list of left-handed batsmen. Yadav replaced leg-spinner Rahul Chahar and the decision reaped the ideal reward as the off-spinner got the wicket of Shikhar Dhawan in the Powerplay.

Chasing 157 to win, Rohit led from the front with a charismatic 68 off 51 balls as Mumbai reached the target in 18.4 overs with five wickets in hand.

Delhi captain Shreyas Iyer reached 500 runs in the season and became the only other Delhi batsman to do so after Shikhar Dhawan. Iyer also scored his 2nd IPL 2020 fifty.

IPL 2020 was also the first time where three bowlers have taken 25 or more wickets in an IPL season. Kagiso Rabada (29), Jasprit Bumrah (27), Trent Boult (25).

Delhi Capital’s wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant scored his maiden fifty of this season in the final.

Pant (23 years 37 days) also became the second youngest to hit a fifty-plus score in an IPL Final.

Instances of both captains hitting 50+ in IPL final : Warner (69) & Kohli (54) – SRH v RCB 2016.  Iyer (65*) & Rohit (52*) – DC v MI 2020

In the season that went by-

Most Sixes- Ishan Kishan (30)

Fastest Fifty- Nicholas Pooran (17 balls)

Highest Score- KL Rahul (132 not out)

Best Batting Strike Rate- Kieron Pollard (191.42)

Most Wickets- Kagiso Rabada (30)

Most Dots – Jofra Archer (175)

Fastest Ball – Anrich Nortje (156.22)

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.