Follow Us:
Wednesday, April 14, 2021

IPL 2019: David Warner wins Orange Cap

IPL Orange Cap 2019 Holders: Here are the standings for most runs in the twelfth edition of the Indian Premier League.

By: Sports Desk |
Updated: May 13, 2019 12:21:56 am
Sunrisers Hyderabad's David Warner lift the bat after scoring fifty runs during the VIVO IPL T20 cricket match between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals in Hyderabad David Warner holds the Orange Cap after two matches of the Indian Premier League. (Source: AP)

IPL Orange Cap 2019: David Warner had held on to his position in the Orange Cap standings for few weeks now and there was a big gap between him and the rest. Warner finished the season with 692 runs from 12 matches before joining up with his international teammates for World Cup preparation.

Second in the IPL highest run scorers list is KL Rahul with 593 runs in 14 matches after slamming a fierce 19-ball fifty in KXIP’s final outing of the season against Chennai Super Kings. Quinton de Kock of MI went up to the third position after the IPL 2019 final.

Top-10 sees three Delhi Capitals batsmen who put an end to their campaign following the Qualifier 2 against CSK. Shikhar Dhawan stands in the fourth position (521 runs) with Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer in the seventh and ninth positions.

In what turned out to be Kolkata Knight Riders’ final game of the season, Andre Russell couldn’t add to his tally. A well placed bouncer by Lasith Malinga got rid of the dangerous batsman for a golden duck. This meant he finishes the season with 510 runs from 14 matches and occupies the fifth spot.

Other batsmen in the top-10 are Quinton de Kock, Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli and Jonny Bairstow. Only de Kock is still alive in the tournament with Mumbai Indians through to the final.

IPL 2019 Orange Cap: Most Runs

Players Matches Runs HS
David Warner (SRH) 12 692 100*
KL Rahul (KXIP) 14 593 100*
Quinton de Kock (MI) 16 529 81
Shikhar Dhawan (DC) 16 521 97*
Andre Russell (KKR) 14 510 80*
Chris Gayle (KXIP) 13 490 99
Rishabh Pant (DC) 16 488 78*
Virat Kohli (RCB) 14 464 100
Shreyas Iyer (DC) 15 463 67
Jonny Bairstow (SRH) 10 445 114

The Orange Cap is an annual cricket award given to the player who finishes the season of Indian Premier League as the leading run scorer. Throughout the tournament, the batsman who has the most runs gets to wear the cap while on the field. The batsman who finishes the tournament with the most runs wins the award. Last year, it was Sunrisers Hyderabad’s Kane Williamson who won the prize.

No player has won the cap in two consecutive seasons.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.