IPL 2019, CSK vs SRH Buildup: Chennai Super Kings win toss, opt to bowlhttps://indianexpress.com/article/sports/ipl/csk-vs-srh-build-up-teams-playing-xi-live-updates-5689988/

IPL 2019, CSK vs SRH Buildup: Chennai Super Kings win toss, opt to bowl

IPL 2019, CSK vs SRH Buildup: Chennai Super Kings play host to Sunrisers Hyderabad at the MA Chidambaram Stadium.

IPL 2019, CSK vs SRH Live Updates
IPL 2019, CSK vs SRH: Sunrisers Hyderabad visit Chennai Super Kings in the IPL today. (Source: PTI)

IPL 2019, CSK vs SRH Buildup: Chennai Super Kings looked to be in a good position at the top of the IPL points table. But two straight defeats has brought that run to a halt and allowed Delhi Capitals to squeeze themselves in at the pinnacle. As things return home, Chennai would be eager to give their home fans plenty to cheer about with Sunrisers Hyderabad in town.

Sunrisers Hyderabad are fourth in the standings and different to CSK, their woes are in the middle order. With David Warner and Jonny Bairstow scoring bulk of the runs, the middle order has either not been tested enough and when it has, it hasn’t delivered. To make things tougher for SRH, it is the last game for Bairstow in the IPL before he heads back to England.

Live Blog

IPL 2019, CSK vs SRH Buildup:


MS Dhoni wins the toss and the hosts Chennai Super Kings opt to bowl against Sunrisers Hyderabad. Williamson sits out, Shakib returns. Manish Pandey also back. You can follow the live score and live updates of the match here. 

Away fans

Standing ovation for Bairstow

The hosts are en route

Williamson to miss the match

Sunrisers Hyderabad skipper Kane Williamson is missing the Indian Premier League match against Chennai Super Kings. He cited personal reasons and has returned to New Zealand. 


hennai aim to resolve top-order woes, Hyderabad fret over wobbly middle-order

The form of CSK's top three will be a primary worry for MS Dhoni. For SRH, he middle-order continues to look wobbly with David Warner and Jonny Bairstow scoring most of the runs.



MA Chidambaram Stadium has been a fortress this season. Chennai Super Kings are the only team with a 100% win record at home this season: Played 4, Won 4.


Overall: Matches – 11, Chennai Super Kings – 8, Sunrisers Hyderabad - 3

Purple Cap

Two of the top wicket takers this season will be involved in the CSK vs SRH contest tonight. Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar from CSK and none from the SRH lineup. 

Orange Cap

The current Orange Cap holder - David Warner - will be looking to add to his tally and extend his lead at the top of the highest run getters list this IPL. As it stands, he has 517 runs to his name. 

Last night in the IPL

On Monday night, Delhi Capitals chased down a steep 192 runs target against Rajasthan Royals with Shikhar Dhawan scoring well at the top and Rishabh Pant carrying on the job later. The win taking Delhi to top of the IPL points table. 

IPL points table

Coming into the fixture, CSK are second in the IPL points table after Delhi Capitals leapfrogged them last night. Sunrisers Hyderabad, meanwhile, are fourth. 

Counting down to action

In seven hours, two captains will walk down to the centre for the toss at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.


Hello and Good Afternoon! Welcome to our continued live coverage of the IPL. Today, Chennai Super Kings are at home against Sunrisers Hyderabad. Two teams with different concerns coming into it and need a solution rather quickly.


Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (captain & WK), Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Murali Vijay, Kedar Jadhav, Sam Billings, Ravindra Jadeja, Dhruv Shorey, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Rituraj Gaikwad, Dwayne Bravo, Karn Sharma, Imran Tahir, Harbhajan Singh, Mitchell Santner, Shardul Thakur, Mohit Sharma, K M Asif, Deepak Chahar, N Jagadeesan (wk), Scott Kuggeleijn.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson (capt), Basil Thampi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Hooda, Manish Pandey, T Natarajan, Ricky Bhui, Sandeep Sharma, Siddarth Kaul, Shreevats Goswami, Khaleel Ahmed, Yusuf Pathan, Billy Stanlake, David Warner, Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Shakib Al Hasan, Jonny Bairstow, Wriddhiman Saha, Martin Guptill, Vijay Shankar, Abhishek Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem.