Follow Us:
Monday, November 29, 2021

MI, CSK, RR retain core players; DD aim to start afresh

The only surprise decision came from Kings XI Punjab who retained the uncapped Manan Vohra.

New Delhi |
Updated: January 11, 2014 10:11:34 am

As reported by The Indian Express on Thursday, almost all the established India players were retained by their respective teams.

CSK predictably retained skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Suresh Raina and West Indies’ Dwayne Bravo.

Mumbai Indians went with their champion skipper Rohit Sharma, off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, West Indies all-rounder Kieron Pollard, Sri Lankan pacer Lasith Malinga and Ambati Rayudu.

Rajasthan Royals retained Australian Shane Watson, who will lead the side, along with left-arm seamer James Faulkner and India’s Ajinkya Rahane and Stuart Binny.

The franchise also retained the talented wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson.

Kolkata Knight Riders retained their skipper Gautam Gambhir along with mystery spinner Sunil Narine for the next edition of the cash-rich league, while Sunrisers Hyderabad did the same with Shikhar Dhawan and Dale Steyn.

The only surprise decision came from Kings XI Punjab who retained the uncapped Manan Vohra along with David Miller. “I never thought I would be retained. IPL gave me recognition and a platform. I am hoping to deliver the goods again for KXIP,” Vohra said.

Delhi Daredevils, meanwhile, chose not to exercise the option as they wish to focus on “building a fresh team”. Bangalore had announced on Thursday they were going ahead with Virat Kohli, Chris Gayle and AB de Villiers.

The auction will be held in Bangalore on February 12 and 13.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard