Follow Us:
Wednesday, September 30, 2020

Indian shooters continue to win medals

Heena Sidhu and Annu Raj Singh clinched the gold medal in women's 10 metre air pistol pairs event.

Written by Agencies | New Delhi | October 12, 2010 2:10:57 pm

It took the Indian shooters less than an hour to shoot three medals – one gold and two silver -to continue their their dream run in the ongoing Commonwealth Games here on Tuesday.

Heena Sidhu and Annu Raj Singh clinched the gold medal in women’s 10 metre air pistol pairs,while ‘Goldfinger’ Samresh Jung combined with Chandrasekhar Kumar Chowdhury to win silver in men’s 25-metre standard pistol pairs.

Tejaswini Sawant,meanwhile,came up with one of her best showings in this edition to grab the silver medal in women’s 50-metre prone event at the Karni Singh Shooting Range.

In the women’s 10-metre air pistol,India prevailed following some tense moments as both Australia and Canada competed on even keel.

After the final round the three teams were neck to neck for the gold with 759 points.

Canadian duo of Dorothy Ludwig (380) and Lynda Hare (379) were awarded the bronze as they had the least number of perfect 10s among the three team.

Both India and Australia shot 21,to Canada’s 14,but the hosts were declared winner on the basis of count-back.

Heena (384) and Annu (375) thus clinched India’s 14th gold at the range,while Australia’s Dina Aspandiyarova (384) and Pamela McKenzie (375) bagged the silver.

In the event in which Tejaswini featured,Scotland’s Jen McIntosh won the gold with a Games record of 597. She broke the record of 590 set by Australian Carolyn Quigley and India’s Roopa Unnikrishnan at the 1998 Kuala Lumpur Games.

Tejaswini,who is India’s first women world champion,clinched the silver medal after she shot 594,while Wales’ Johanne Brekke had to settle for the bronze,with 593 points.

In the men’s 25 metre standard pistol,Jung (561) and Chaudhary (542) won the silver with a score of 1103.

Singapore’s Bin Gai (564) and Lip Meng Poh (552) won the gold medal after they totalled 1116. The bronze went to England’s Michael Gault (554) and Iqbal Ubhi (544).

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.