Follow Us:
Friday, July 20, 2018

Junior Hockey World Cup fixtures, schedule, time in IST, date, venues and more

The junior hockey World Cup will be held in the city of Lucknow.

By: Express Web Desk | Updated: December 8, 2016 4:48:59 pm
India Junior World Cup, World Cup junior, Junior World Cup fixtures, India matchesm World Cup hockey fixtures, Junior World Cup schedule, India Hockey, Hockey India, Hockey news, Hockey India will be aiming for their first international title since 2001. (Source: Twitter)

India prepares to host the 11th edition of the junior hockey World Cup. It has already been over a decade and a half since India won it last. India’s last victory in the tournament came in 2001 when the junior hockey world championships were held in Hobart, Australia. The side which went on to win the title then had players like Gagan Ajit Singh, Deepak Thakur, Yugraj Singh, Prabhjot Singh, all of whom went on to represent the senior team.

After having a successful year in international hockey, team India will be eyeing to end 2016 on a high note as it seeks to provide a platform to young guns, those who tend to challenge the senior and established players.

Last time India hosted the event was back in 2013 in New Delhi, where Germany won their sixth title beating France 5-2 in the penultimate match. This season will see 16 teams contesting for the title, while India’s arch rivals Pakistan withdrew from the tournament. Tournament will be played in newly-built Major Dhyan Chand Astroturf Stadium in Lucknow. This is the first time that the city is hosting an international tournament.

Hosts India are placed in Pool D alongside Canada, England and South Africa. If Harjeet Singh and co. top Group D, they will have to play one of the top two teams from Pool C, which comprises defending champions Germany, Spain and New Zealand.

Here’s the Junior hockey World Cup fixture:

Dec 08, Thursday

New Zealand vs Japan, 11:30 AM

Germany vs Spain, 01:30 PM

England vs South Africa, 03:30 PM

India vs Canada, 07:00 PM

Dec 09, Friday

Australia vs Korea, 10:00 AM

Argentina vs Austria, 12:00 PM

Belgium vs Egypt, 02:00 PM

Spain vs Japan, 04:00 PM

New Zealand vs Germany, 06:00 PM

Netherlands vs Maylasia, 08:00 PM

Dec 10, Saturday

Korea vs Austria, 01:00 PM

South Africa vs Canada,03:00 PM

Argentina vs Australia, 05:00 PM

India vs England, 07:00 PM

Dec 11, Sunday

Germany vs Japan, 01:00 PM

Belgium vs Netherlands, 03:00 PM

Laylsia vs Egypt, 05:00 PM

Spain vs New Zealand, 07:00 PM

December 12, Monday

England vs Canada, 10:00 AM

Australia vs Austria, 12:00 PM

Korea vs Argentina, 02:00 PM

Netherland s vs Egypt, 04:00 PM

Maylasia vs Belgium, 06:00 PM

South Africa vs India, 08:00 PM

December 14, Wednesday, Quarterfinals

Quarterfinal 1: 12:15 PM
Quarterfinal 2: 02:30 PM
Quarterfinal 3: 04:45 PM
Quarterfinal 4: 07:00 PM

December 16, Thursday, Semifinal

Semifinal 1: 04:45 PM
Semifinal 2: 07:00 PM

December 18, Friday, FINAL, 07:00 PM

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App