Indian men to open Olympic hockey campaign on August 6, women on Aug 7

Set in a difficult Pool B at the Rio Olympics comprising Argentina, Canada, Germany, Ireland and Netherlands, India start on August 7.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Published: April 27, 2016 8:10:52 pm
hockey schedule, hockey rio olympics, hockey rio olympics groups, rio olympics hockey, rio hockey, olympics hockey, olympics hockey schedule, olympics schedule, hockey schedule india, india hockey olympics schedule, hockey news, hockey Indian men will start their Olympics campaign on August 6.

India’s men’s hockey team will begin their campaign at the Rio 2016 Olympics on August 6 after the schedule was released on Wednesday.

Asian champions who are in Pool B with Argentina, Canada, Germany, Ireland and Netherlands start off against first-time qualifiers Ireland on August 6. They next take on Germany on August 8, Argentina on August 9, Netherlands on August 11 and Canada on August 12.

The top four teams from the group stages will progress to the quarterfinals – a first – with the knockouts starting on August 14.

Other group includes Australia, Great Britain, Belgium, New Zealand, Spain and Brazil.

“We will play the three top teams of our group back to back. Instead of looking at that as a daunting task we think
it’s a great opportunity. It’ll help us keep improving our level, and positive results will give us more confidence from
game to game,” Coach Roelant Oltmans said.

The Indian women are also in Pool B and are paired with Argentina, Australia, Great Britain, Japan and United States with the top two teams from both groups moving forward.

Eves start their campaign on August 7 against Japan before taking on Great Britain on August 8, Australia on
August 10, USA on August 11 and Argentina on August 13.

The Gold medal match for men will be played on 18 August and for women on August 19.


MEN: Ireland (August 6), Germany (August 8), Argentina (August 9), Netherlands (August 11) and Canada (August 12)

WOMEN: Japan (August 7), Great Britain (August 8), Australia (August 10), USA (August 11) and Argentina (August 13)

Start your day the best way
with the Express Morning Briefing

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App