Follow Us:
Sunday, May 22, 2022

FIFA Best Player Award: Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappe among nominees; no place for Neymar

FIFA nominated ten players for the Best Men's Player Award which includes the names of Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric and Kylian Mbappe.

By: Sports Desk |
Updated: July 25, 2018 9:35:38 am
Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappe dominate list of Best Player Award nominees.

FIFA announced a 10-man list of names shortlisted for the FIFA Best Men’s Player Award for the year 2018-19 which includes star players Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi among others. Brazil and PSG star Neymar, however, did not find a spot in the list of nominees.

Ronaldo, who has moved to Juventus from Real Madrid, where he won his fifth UEFA Champions League trophy as well, has been named as the Best FIFA Men’s Player the last two years. Barcelona’s Lionel Messi lifted the La Liga trophy as well as the Copa del Rey trophy with his club.

Last year’s third-placed PSG star Neymar was snubbed after missing three months of the 2017/18 season due to injury and Brazil’s exit from the FIFA World Cup in quarterfinals.

List of FIFA Best Coach of the Year Nominees

Best of Express Premium

FY22: As Covid curbs ease, outward remittances up 55% to all-time highPremium
A letter from Mathura: ‘Radha ki chunari bhi Salma silti hai’Premium
A Letter From Varanasi: ‘It’s our waqt… Ayodhya will happen in Kash...Premium
Tavleen Singh writes: Evil under the sunPremium

The list also includes Antoine Griezmann and FIFA Young Player winner Kylian Mbappe after the duo helped France lift their second World Cup trophy. While Griezmann lifted the Europa League trophy with Atletico Madrid, Mbappe helped PSG claim a domestic treble.

Luka Modric is also a strong contender after winning the Golden Ball with Croatia returned as runners-up and lifting the Champions League and Club World Cup trophy with Real Madrid.

Cristiano Ronaldo
Kevin De Bruyne
Antoine Griezmann
Eden Hazard
Harry Kane
Kylian Mbappe
Lionel Messi
Luka Modric
Mohamed Salah
Raphael Varane

Meanwhile, six players from European and French champion Lyon are among the ten candidates selected to win FIFA’s Best Women’s player Award including captain France’s Wendie Renard, Germany’s Dzsenifer Marozsan and Japan’s Saki Kumagai. Three candidates are selected from National Women’s Soccer League which includes Megan Rapinoe, five-time FIFA winner Marta of Brazil, and Australia forward Sam Kerr.

Award winners from the last two years, Carli Lloyd of the U.S. and Lieke Martens of the Netherlands, however, did not make it to the shortlist.

Lucy Bronze
Pernille Harder
Ada Hegerberg
Amandine Henry
Sam Kerr
Saki Kumagai
Dzsenifer Marozsan
Megan Rapinoe
Wendie Renard

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
Live Blog
Match 70 : 22 May, 2022
Sunrisers Hyderabad
Punjab Kings
  • 2 mins ago

    SRH vs PBKS: PBKS bowling!

    On the bowling front, lead pacer Kagiso Rabada (22) continues to be the highest wicket taker…

  • 15 mins ago

    SRH vs PBKS: PBKS batting!

    High on spirits after thrashing RCB by 54 runs, PBKS suffered an inexplicable batting collapse…