Follow Us:
Friday, July 20, 2018

Yasir Shah, Sohail Tanvir included in Pakistan squad for T20Is against Sri Lanka

Yasir Shah has played a single T20 international way back in 2011 against Zimbabwe.

By: PTI | Karachi | Updated: July 22, 2015 4:31:35 pm
Pakistan vs Sri Lanka, Yasir Shah, Yasir Shah Pakistan, Pakistan vs Sri Lanka score, Pakistan vs Sri Lanka live score, Pakistan vs Sri Lanka T20, Pakistan squad, Sports News, Sports, Younus Khan Yasir shah took four wickets in the last ODI against Sri Lanka and helped Pakistan cease victory against Sri Lanka. (Source: AP)

Pakistani selectors have included leg spinner Yasir Shah in their 15-member squad announced for the two T20 matches against Sri Lanka.

Yasir, who has played a single T20 international way back in 2011, sending down just one over in Zimbabwe has been in prime form since his comeback to the Test and ODI sides since last September.

The selectors have also named uncapped left am pacer Zia ul Haq as reserve for Wahab Riaz who is still recovering from a hand injury he sustained during the Test series in Sri Lanka last month.

Share This Article
Related Article

Chief selector Haroon Rasheed said that Wahab had shown good progress in rehab and was most likely to play the T20 matches. The selectors also recalled out of favor left arm pacer SohailTanveer who last played in the series in Bangladesh in April. Rasheed said Tanvir was recalled because of his performances in the Caribbean Premier League.

The selectors also surprisingly have picked batsman Umar Akmal in the T20 squad after they had dropped him for the ODI series against Sri Lanka for not showing up for a conditioning camp prior to the announcement of the ODI squad.

The chief selector had roundly criticized the attitude of Umar and made it clear that if he wanted to play for Pakistan he would have to change his attitude.

Pakistan squad: Shahid Afridi (Capt), Ahmed Shehzad, Mukhtar Ahmed, Noman Anwar, Muhammad Hafeez, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Anwar Ali, Muhammad Irfan, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Sohail Tanvir, Imad Wasim, Yasir Shah, Muhammad Rizwan, Wahab Riaz, Zia ul Haq (reserve player).

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App