Updated: June 24, 2021 10:42:56 am
Ravindra Jadeja’s dismissal on Day 6 of the World Test Championship final drew sharp reactions from fans after several of them wondered if Neil Wagner’s delivery was a no-ball due to the placement of his back-foot.
Wagner, who was charging in at Jadeja, peppered the southpaw with short-pitched bowling. The left-arm seamer’s strategy reaped due reward when Jadeja poked at one that was angled across him and got an outside edge which was pouched by Watling.
While the Black Caps celebrated the wicket, a lot of fans on social media cried foul pointing out Wagner’s back foot which had crossed the return crease, deeming it as a no-ball.
As per me, Wagner has almost bowled 5-6 similar no balls in the last few overs. I am watching the Hindi commentry and really surprised that no one is calling that out except for that one time @cricketaakash talked about this. Who is gonna ask the umpires to take a note of it? https://t.co/NacXKvBXJh
— Ricky talks cricket (@CricRicky) June 23, 2021
#staraikelungal Hi balaji Sir, During Jadeja’s wicket Wagner’s backfoot touched the side crease, But this was not called as a no-ball, Can u please explain why this was not given a no-ball?
— Dare_Daniel_Raj (@DareDanielRaj1) June 23, 2021
The decision was final as there was no error because Wagner’s foot had landed fine before it crossed over the line, which meant the delivery was legitimate.
Rules of the game
According to guardians of the game, MCC, the landing position of the foot is the decider in arriving at the no-ball call or a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride,
21.5.1 the bowler’s back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery