Follow Us:
Thursday, July 19, 2018

Virat Kohli’s century gives India lead over England on Day 3: How twitterati reacted

India successfully built on the strong start from Day 2, with Virat Kohli and Murali Vijay getting centuries.

By: Express Web Desk | Published: December 10, 2016 5:13:02 pm
india vs england, ind vs eng, india vs england score, india vs england fourth test, india vs england wankhede, india vs england mumbai test, virat kohli, murali vijay, cricket news, sports news Virat Kohli got to his 15th Test century. (Source: Reuters)

India were able to build on the solid start that Cheteshwar Pujara and Murali Vijay had made to the innings on Day 2. As Day 3 began, Pujara departed without putting any runs on the board, thus missing out on a half-century. Vijay, on the other hand, stayed put and built another 100-run-partnership with skipper Virat Kohli. In the process, he got to his 8th Test century nad thus ended a bad run of form.

Adil Rashid finally dismissed Murali Vijay for 136 runs. Kohli stuck on but India kept losing wickets on the other end. R Ashwin, Parthiv Patel and Karun Nair all departed without making any considerable change on the scoreboard and India found themselves 307/6 from 267/2.

Ravindra Jadeja then stuck on with Kohli and the two put up 57 runs for the seventh wicket before the former was caught behind off a Rashid delivery. But that was the last wicket that England got in the day. Jayant Yadav then gave the perfect support for his skipper and runs started coming thick and fast for India. In the process, Kohli got to his 15th Test century. India ended the day with 451 runs on the board with a loss of seven wickets, thus holding a 51-run lead over England. Kohli and Jayant Yadav have now put 87 runs for the eighth wicket.

Here is how twitterati reacted to the day’s play:

Kohli has now crossed Sachi Tendulkar for the most Test centuries by an Indian captain. He now has eight since taking over from MS Dhoni in 2014. He is third in the all time list for most centuries in Tests by Indian captains, trailing Mohammad Azharuddin (9) and Sunil Gavaskar (11).

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App