Virat Kohli breaks Chris Gayle’s four-year-record of most runs in single IPL edition

Virat Kohli's 752* is the most by any batsman in a single season of the IPL. Chris Gayle is the second best with his 733 in 2012.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: May 17, 2016 9:11:23 pm
Virat Kohli, Virat Kohli record, Virat Kohli IPL record, Virat Kohli IPL runs, Virat Kohli IPL runs record, Kohli record, Kohli IPL runs record, Cricket Virat Kohli, with an unbeaten 75, powered RCB to nine-wicket win over KKR. (Source: BCCI/IPL)

Virat Kohli, during his unbeaten 75-run knock against KKR on Monday, surpassed Chris Gayle’s 733-run mark to create a new record of most runs in a single season.

Gayle scored 733 runs for RCB in 15 matches during the 2012 edition and Kohli has moved to 752 in the ongoing edition off only 12 games.

This is not the first record the RCB skipper has smashed this season. With three tons, he entered record books by becoming the only player in tournament’s history to hit three tons in a single season.

Here’s a look at the top run-getters in a single IPL season:

# Virat Kohli 752* in 2016

# Chris Gayle 733 in 2012

# Michael Hussey 733 in 2013

# Chris Gayle 708 in 2013

# Robin Uthappa 660 in 2014

# Virat Kohli 634 in 2013

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App