Vijay Hazare Trophy: Tamil Nadu recover to post one-wicket win, enter semis

Chasing 169 to win, Tamil Nadu were 118/6 when Rajagopal Sathish scored 34 off 38 to steer his team home, into semis.

By: PTI | Published: December 24, 2015 6:29:38 pm
Vijay Hazare Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy 2015, Vijay Hazare Trophy scores, Vijay Hazare scores, Tamil Nadu vs UP, UP vs TN, Vidarbha vs Gujarat, Gujarat vs Vidarbha, vijay hazare semis, cricket score, cricket news, cricket Baba Indrajith scored 48 runs for Tamil Nadu (Source: PTI File)

Rajagopal Sathish’s unbeaten 34 runs helped Tamil Nadu clinch an exciting one-wicket victory over Uttar Pradesh in an enthralling quarterfinal of the Vijay Hazare trophy played at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium Bengaluru on Thursday.

Chasing 169 to win, Sathish stood tall amid the ruins with a 38-ball cameo that comprised six boundaries.

Sathish came into bat when the score was 118 for six, needing 71 runs for Tamil Nadu to reach the last four.

The man of the match did not get the needed support from Baba Indrajith (48), Ravichandran Ashwin (7) and Aswin Crist (4), who failed to get into the double figures, towards the end of the chase. TN play Gujarat in the semifinals on

Tamil Nadu began their innings in a poor fashion losing Dinesh Karthik (0), Abhinav Mukund (2), Baba Aparajith (9) and L Balaji (0) for just 17 on the board.

India discard pacer Praveen Kumar tasted the first blood by removing Karthik and then Bhuvaneshwar Kumar sent back Mukund, Aparajith and Balaji in a jiffy.

Nevertheless, Vijay Shankar (22) and inform India opener Murali Vijay (33) stabilised the innings and brought Tamil Nadu close to sniffing distance of the victory target.

Both put on 64-run partnership for the fifth wicket before Vijay was trapped leg before by Saurabh Kumar.

Later, Sathish stitched a vital 37 and 35 run stand for sixth and eighth wicket partnership with Indrajith and Ashwin, making the difference in the end. which will played on December 26.

India seamer Bhuvaneshwar Kumar and leggie Piyush Chawla scalped three wickets each for Uttar Pradesh, while Praveen Kumar and Saurabh Kumar bagged a wicket each, but could not restrict Tamil Nadu pull off a thrilling victory.

Opting to bat, Uttar Pradesh posted 168 all out in 48.2 overs with Rinku Singh being the top scorer with a 97-ball 60

Uttar Pradesh too suffered a bad start as half of the team was back in the pavillion with the score reading 41.

Piyush Chawla was the second highest scorer (29) and seven other batsmen could not reach double digits.

Balaji was the most successful bowler for Tamil Nadu, who scalped Shubham Chaubey (6), Saurabh Kumar (3) and Akshdeep Nath (13).

Sathish, who bagged one wicket and scored a match-winning knock, was declared man-of-the-match.

Patel’s help Gujarat sneak into Vijay Hazare semis

Gujarat skipper Parthiv Patel struck an exemplary fifty, while Axar Patel chipped in with an unbeaten 36 after picking up two crucial scalps to edge out Vidarbha by two wickets and advance to the semi-finals of the Vijay Hazare cricket tournament in Alur on Thursday.

Chasing 196 for a win at the KSCA Cricket (3) Ground, Gujarat rode on opener Parthiv’s strokeful 57 to achieve the target in 48.1 overs.

Brief Scores: Vidarbha 195 in 48 overs (Faiz Fazal 52, Jitesh Sharma 51, Ganesh Satish 47; Jasprit Bumrah 4-38) Gujarat 198/8 in 48.1 overs (Parthiv Patel 57, Axar Patel 36 not out; Rujul Thakur 3-46, Akshay Wakhare 3-30)

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App