Follow Us:
Sunday, January 17, 2021

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019 Final, Karnataka vs Tamil Nadu Highlights: Karnataka win by 60 runs, VJD method

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019 Final, Karnataka vs Tamil Nadu (KAR vs TN) Highlights: Abhimanyu Mithun starred with a five-wicket haul including a hat-trick in the final over of first innings

By: Sports Desk | Updated: October 25, 2019 4:46:30 pm
(File photo)

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019 Final, Karnataka vs Tamil Nadu (KAR vs TN) Highlights: Chasing a modest target of 253, Karnataka were 146 for one wicket after 23 overs when bad light stopped play followed by rain. Karnataka won the match by 60 runs (VJD method). KL Rahul played the role of anchor whereas Mayank Agarwal took on Tamil Nadu bowlers. Rahul remained not out for 52 runs from 72 balls whereas Agarwal scored 69 runs from 55 deliveries including seven fours and three sixes. Only Washington Sundar managed to get a wicket but gave away runs at 8.5 runs per over

Earlier Manish Pandey won the toss and elected to field first at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru. Tamil Nadu did not get off to a good start with Murali Vijay getting out on a duck followed by the experiment to send R Ashwin at No.3 gone wrong. Opener Abhinav Mukund and Baba Aparajith’s 124-run partnership for the third-wicket helped Tamil Nadu get back in the game. Mukund and Aparajith scored 85 and 66 respectively. Tamil Nadu kept losing wickets at regular intervals followed by a batting collapse in the death overs. Abhimanyu Mithun became the first Karnataka bowler to take a hat-trick in Vijay Hazare Trophy as Tamil Nadu got all out for 252 with one ball to go.

Live Blog

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019 Final, Karnataka vs Tamil Nadu Live Updates:

16:35 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Karnataka win

Karnataka win the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019 final by VJD Method beating Tamil Nadu by 60 runs. 

15:12 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Raining heavy

More covers on the ground and it looks like it is going to be a long wait for the match to resume. According to the commentators, the par score after 23 overs is 83 for 1 and Karnataka are 63 runs ahead. 

15:10 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Bad light stops play

It has started raining a little, the lightmeter is out and the fielders are walking back to the dressing room. The covers are on. Karnataka are comfortably ahead of Tamil Nadu in the Vijay Hazare Trophy final. Karnataka will win the match if play does not resume. KAR - 146/1 in 23 overs

15:07 (IST)25 Oct 2019

KL Rahul gets to his 17th List A half-century from 71 deliveries. The half-centuries have put Karnataka in control of the run chase. KAR - 146/1 in 23 overs

15:04 (IST)25 Oct 2019
100-run partnership

The 100-run partnership for the second wicket between KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal comes up in the 23rd over. 

14:38 (IST)25 Oct 2019

Mayank Agarwal has been rampant today taking the attack to the bowlers. Agarwal has increased the scoring rate and ensured there is no scoreboard pressure on Karnataka batsmen. Knocking on selectors' doors in the ODI format as well reaching the half-century from 41 deliveries. KAR - 113/1 in 18 overs

14:29 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Rahul survives

Shahrukh Khan almost pulled off KL Rahul's catch at backward point. Shahrukh picked it up on the bounce. 

14:22 (IST)25 Oct 2019
100 up!

Karanataka are moving towards the target at a brisk pace. KL Rahul is playing the role of an anchor whereas Mayank Agarwal is hitting the bowlers all over the park. KAR - 104/1 in 16 overs

14:05 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Lucky Agarwal

Mayank Agarwal's catch gets dropped at first slip. Also, it was a no ball from Washington Sundar. 10 runs from Sundar's over. No pressure on Karnataka batsmen whatsoever. KAR - 74/1 in 11 overs

13:58 (IST)25 Oct 2019
End of first powerplay

Karnataka batsmen have dominated Tamil Nadu in the first powerplay overs. KL Rahul has held on to one end whereas Mayank Agarwal looks to be in the form of his life. Agarwal hits Natarajan for three fours in an over. He is batting from 20 runs from 14 deliveries. KAR - 64/1 in 10 overs

13:52 (IST)25 Oct 2019

That was hit from the middle of the bat. Mayank Agarwal hits that one on the rise and over the covers boundary for a maximum. Agarwal is in good form after an impressive Test series against South Africa. 50 up for Karnataka in the ninth over as well. KAR - 51/1 in 9 overs

13:47 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Shankar into attack

Vijay Shankar is the first change bowler for Tamil Nadu. Shankar starts off with a good over, just a single from it. KAR - 40/1 in 7 overs

13:38 (IST)25 Oct 2019

Devdutt Padikkal departs for 11. Washington Sundar gets the first wicket of the innings. Tamil Nadu will back on their spinners to tighten the screws. KAR - 34/1 in 4.3 overs

13:25 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Good start to chase

KL Rahul off to a great start for Karnataka, fetching his side 15 runs in the first over which includes two boundaries. He is supported by Devdutt Padikkal with two more fours in the next over. Karnataka are 23/0 after 2 overs

13:12 (IST)25 Oct 2019
253 to win

With in-form KL Rahul, Devdutt Padikkal, Mayank Agarwal, Manish Pandey in the side, the target of 253 does not look threatening at all. Tamil Nadu bowlers need to pull off something special win their fifth Vijay Hazare Trophy title.

Padikkal needs just two runs to complete 600 runs in the season and three runs to become the highest-run scorer. 

12:47 (IST)25 Oct 2019

Abhimanyu Mithun gets a hat-trick in Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019 final on his birthday. Mithun also bags a fifer walking back to the dressing room with 5 wickets for 34 runs from 9.5 overs. He becomes the first Karnataka bowler to take a hat-trick in Vijay Hazare Trophy. TN - 252 all out in 49.5 overs

12:44 (IST)25 Oct 2019

M Mohammed gets caught on the boundary by Devdutt Padikkal. Fourth wicket of the day for Abhimanyu Mithun. TN - 252/9 in 49.4 overs

12:42 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Mithun dismisses Shahrukh

Shahrukh Khan departs trying to get as many runs as possible in the final over. Another catch for Manish Pandey. Abhimanyu Mithun gets his third wicket of the day. TN - 252/8 in 49.3 overs

12:38 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Umpiring blunder

An above waist-height ball down the leg side being given as a wide. The umpire rob Tamil Nadu of a free hit. Shahrukh Khan is not happy with the umpire. M Mohammed manages to get a boundary from that over, 250 up in the penultimate over. TN - 250/7 in 49 overs

12:28 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Sundar departs

Washington Sundar fails to clear the long on fielder Manish Pandey. An easy catch for Karnataka skipper in the end as V Koushik gets his second wicket of the day. TN - 230/7 in 47 overs

Playing XIs:

Karnataka XI: Lokesh Rahul (wk), Devdutt Padikkal, Mayank Agarwal, Manish Pandey (c), Karun Nair, Rohan Kadam, Praveen Dubey, Krishnappa Gowtham, Abhimanyu Mithun, V Koushik, Prateek Jain

Tamil Nadu XI: Abhinav Mukund, Murali Vijay, Baba Aparajith, Dinesh Karthik (c & wk), Vijay Shankar, Washington Sundar, Shahrukh Khan, Ravichandran Ashwin, M Mohammed, Murugan Ashwin, T Natarajan