Follow Us:
Friday, December 03, 2021

USA, Oman, PNG, Namibia secure ODI status for coming World Cup Qualifying cycle

The US, Oman, and PNG attained ODI status for the upcoming World Cup Qualifying cycle and will take their place in CWC League 2 alongside Scotland, the UAE and Nepal.

By: Sports Desk |
Updated: April 26, 2019 9:15:30 pm
United States Cricket Team beat Hong Kong by 84 runs. (USA cricket/Twitter)

United States Cricket Team beat Hong Kong by 84 runs in the WCL Division 2 to attain one-day International (ODI) status on Wednesday. After losing their first game at WCL2, USA came back to win their next three to secure one-day international cricket for the first time since the 2004 Champions Trophy.

Opener Xavier Marshall (who has played seven Tests for the West Indies) scored a fine century which helped USA post a challenging total of 280/8 in their allocated 50 overs.

Hong Kong began the chase well but slow left-arm spinner Karima Gore picked up two important wickets which pegged back the oppositions. USA were equally good on the field and all round effort restricted Hong Kong to 196/7.

Prior to this match, USA’s defeated Namibia and Papua New Guinea and the confidence rubbed off in the following match at in Windhoek, Namibia.

At the conclusion of WCL Division 2, the top four teams will join Scotland, UAE, Nepal and the Netherlands in having temporary ODI status.

Apart from USA, Oman has secured ODI status. Oman also attained the ODI status after win over Namibia in the tournament. PNG also join The USA and Oman in attaining ODI status. USA needed to score 212 or more against Canada to give PNG the ODI status or it would have gone to Canada. USA scored 215/9 vs Canada but lost by 40 runs. Namibia defeated Papua New Guinea by 151 run to become the fourth team to gain ODI status.

The four teams will enjoy full ODI status for the coming World Cup Qualifying cycle, and will take their place in CWC League 2 alongside Scotland, the UAE and Nepal, with 36 ODI fixtures between the teams in the next three years.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard