scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Sunday, August 14, 2022

Fresh debate erupts over ‘Mankading’ and its validity after incident at U19 World Cup

The incident has sparked a fresh debate among the cricket experts, former players and fans about the validity of the cricket rule, which despite it being against the spirit of the game, exists in the rule book and players are entitled to use it.

By: Sports Desk |
Updated: February 1, 2020 2:34:57 pm

The debate on ‘Mankading’ has been sparked again after Afghanistan bowler Noor Ahmad Lakanwal ran out Pakistan opener Mohammad Huraira in the quarter-final clash of the ongoing U19 Cricket World Cup on Friday.

The running out a backing-up batsman is referred to as ‘Mankading’ after former India bowler Vinoo Mankad ran out Australia’s Bill Brown in 1947. England’s Jos Buttler was most recently a victim after India’s Ravichandran Ashwin dismissed him in a 2019 Indian Premier League match.

As Sriram Veera observed in a piece at the time on why the practice was still controversial despite it being in the rule books: “Perhaps, because unlike other dismissals, Mankading pre-empts everything else: a ball hasn’t been bowled, the batsmen haven’t gotten into the act, and some feel “cheated” by the non-consummation of the cricketing act.”

Under the previous rule, bowlers could attempt a run out only before entering their delivery stride. Now, under the new change in 2017, bowlers will be able to run-out up to the instant at which they “would be expected to deliver the ball”.

But the latest instance has sparked furore, with England fast bowler James Anderson weighing in again. In reply to a cricket fan he tweeted,”I think there are enough ways to get a batsman out involving skill (either as a bowler or fielder). I don’t think I’ve played with anyone who feels like this is a legitimate way of getting someone out.” Now taking a cheeky dig, Indian spinner R Ashwin said,” Law removal might need some deliberation!! A Shredder might do the trick for now😂😂🤩”

Taking the discussion further, former Australian spinner Brad Hogg said, “Stay behind the crease before the bowler let’s go of the ball. It’s not that hard. If the batsman runs two gets home by an inch, he has taken an unfair advantage. Why have rules when you don’t apply them. Usain Bolt wasn’t allowed false starts.”

Advertisement

Here are some of the interesting arguments on the incident below:  

1.

2.

3.


4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

9.

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
First published on: 01-02-2020 at 12:33:33 pm

Featured Stories

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement