Follow Us:
Sunday, February 28, 2021
Live now

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy QF1 Highlights: Punjab beat Karnataka by nine wickets

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy QF1 Highlights: Punjab maintain their unbeaten streak in the competition against the defending champions Karnataka.

By: Sports Desk |
Updated: January 26, 2021 2:47:04 pm
Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy quarterfinal, Punjab vs KarnatakaSyed Mushtaq Ali Trophy QF1 Highlights: Punjab vs Karnataka.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy QF1 Highlights: Punjab booked their spot in the final four stages of the gripping Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy on Tuesday after beating defending champions Karnataka by nine wickets at the Motera Stadium in Ahmedabad.

After restricting Karnataka to just 87 in 17.2 overs owing to a brilliant bowling attack, Punjab sealed the win with 44 balls to spare. Prabhsimran Singh (49*) and captain Mandeep Singh (35*) partnered each other for 85 runs, which proved to be crucial for the victory. During the first innings, Siddarth Kaul shone with his impressive 3/15.

Other than Karnataka and Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Baroda, Bihar, and Rajasthan have reached the knockout stage and all the matches will be played at Ahmedabad.

With IPL 2021 Mini Auction approaching near, players would leave no stone unturned in giving their best. On the other hand, the newly appointed selection committee headed by Chetan Sharma is also expected to watch the knockouts.

Live Blog

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy QF1 Highlights:

14:39 (IST)26 Jan 2021

Simran Singh and Mandeep Singh's unbeaten 85-run partnership seals the deal for Punjab as they defeat the defending champions Karnataka by nine wickets with 44 balls to spare. What a win by Mandeep's side and they look like the side to beat this time!

14:34 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Punjab need 14 more runs to win

Punjab look set to book their spot in the semis as both Simran (35*) and Mandeep (34*) look invincible now. Mandeep slaughters Prasidh as he sends the ball over the ropes in style. They need 14 more runs in 54 balls to win the contest. PUN: 74/1 (11 overs)

14:25 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Simran, Mandeep cross 50-run partnership

The partnership continues to grow and after a brilliant four by Mandeep off Dubey's bowling, it crosses the 50-run mark. Gopal continues his spell in the next over and he maintains his economy. Karnataka need wickets now though. PUN: 60/1 (9 overs)

14:14 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Punjab in total control

After Simran (22*) smashed his second maximum of the afternoon facing Prasidh, Mandeep (14*) stepped in to escalate the run chase. He took on Koushik and punished him with back-to-back boundaries. Nine runs from the sixth over. PUN: 40/1 (6 overs)

14:05 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Simran, Mandeep lead charge

Despite Mithun and Prasidh's attack, Punjab haven't slumped at all. Simran (16*) and Mandeep (4*) take it easy in the opening overs, even smashing a boundary. Koushik comes into the attack and he concedes a six from the former. PUN: 24/1 (4 overs)

13:52 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Sharma opens for Punjab, loses wicket in first over

Abhishek Sharma and Simran Singh open for Punjab. Sharma starts off brightly as he smacks a full delivery up and over extra cover to the ropes. But, Abhimanyu Mithun ruins the party early on as he dismisses Sharma with a caught out. PUN: 4/1 (1 over)

13:26 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Punjab need 88 runs to win

That's it! Karnataka are all out for 87 in just 17.2 overs. Nightmare for the defending champions as their batting order fell like a pack of cards right from te start. Aniruddha Joshi top-scored with a slow 27, while Siddarth Kaul registered impressive figures of 3/15.

13:20 (IST)26 Jan 2021

Punjab are relentless! That's the eighth of the innings and Praveen Dubey is sent back by Arshdeep Singh. Three balls later, Abhimanyu Mithun is dismissed by Kaul, who scalps his third wicket of the innings. Not long to go now. KAR: 86/9 (16.2 overs)

13:13 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Karnataka in real trouble

First, it was Ramandeep Singh who dismissed Suchith. Now, it's Markande who forces Joshi (27) to walk back to the pavilion. The batsman tried to slog, but he was clean bowled. Just 19 runs in the last five overs, things looking bleak now. KAR: 85/7 (15 overs)

13:00 (IST)26 Jan 2021
The magnificence that is Motera!
12:55 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Karnataka reach the halfway mark

Jagadeesha Suchith (5*) and Aniruddha Joshi (21*) are in the middle now trying to fix their team's poor start. The Punjab bowlers haven't faltered at all today as they maintain the pressure on the batsmen. Not a single maximum so far. KAR: 66/5 (10 overs)

12:44 (IST)26 Jan 2021

Shreyas Gopal (13) tries to lead from the front with some occasional boundaries, but his foray comes to an end. After Joshi (12*) smacked Ramandeep Singh for a four, his partner gets caught out in the slips. Simran Singh with the catch. KAR: 51/5 (8 overs)

12:30 (IST)26 Jan 2021

Arshdeep now joins the party after scalping the fourth wicket of the innings! Sharath BR gets a thick edge, and it falls right into the hands of Abhishek at wide slip. Karnataka are falling like a pack of cards. Gopal and Joshi in the middle now. KAR: 32/4 (5 overs)

12:22 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Padikkal, Deshpande out

Punjab bowler Siddharth Kaul got Padikkal's wicket just an over after Nair's dismissal. Karnataka have now lost both their openers inside four overs. Pavan Deshpande also falls to Kaul two balls later. A maiden for Punjab, what a start! KAR: 26/3 (4 overs)

12:18 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Sandeep Sharma strikes

Punjab's experienced bowler Sandeep Sharma got better of Karnataka skipper and opener Karun Nair for 12 runs. After 3 overs, Karnataka 26/1

12:07 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Playing XIs:
12:02 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Punjab opt to bowl first

The special match on the special day of the Republic Day here at Motera begins. Sandeep Sharma of Punjab opens the bowling attack against Karnataka's Devdutt Padikkal and Karun Nair. Punjab have been on the roll in this tournament. 

11:51 (IST)26 Jan 2021
Punjab vs Karnataka battle begins

Hello and welcome to the Live Blog of Punjab vs Karnataka quarterfinal match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy at Sardar Patel Stadium, Motera in Ahmedabad. Both the teams are in form and have been the leaders in the T20 tournament so far. Stay tuned for more Live updates.