Follow Us:
Wednesday, June 23, 2021

Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy: Harbhajan Singh stars in Punjab win; Karnataka win thriller against Mumbai

Harbhajan Singh took 3/8 in 4 overs as Punjab dismissed J&K for 105 and later chased it down with 8 wickets in hand.

By: PTI |
Updated: January 3, 2016 6:42:21 pm
harbhajan singh, harbhajan, yuvraj singh, punjab, syed mustaq ali trophy, syed mustaq ali, punjab vs j&k, syed mustaq ali results, cricket score, india cricket, cricket india, cricket news, cricket Harbhajan Singh took three wickets for eight runs in Punjab’s win over Jammu and Kashmir. (Source: Express file

Skipper Harbhajan Singh bowled a deadly spell to record figures of 3/8 in 4 overs as Punjab thrashed Jammu and Kashmir by 8 wickets in a one-sided group B of Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament.

Batting first, Jammu and Kashmir were all out for a paltry 105 in 19.3 overs with Bandeep Singh being the top-scorer with contribution of 40. In reply, Punjab scored the runs in 14.3 overs with Mandeep Singh scoring unbeaten 58 off 45 balls. Opener Pargat Singh scored 44 and added 97 for second wicket with Mandeep.

Leading from the front, Harbhajan brought himself as the second change, got the two most important players in the rival team in skipper Mithun Manhas (6) and Parveez Rasool (2).

Especially, he got Rasool with a flighted delivery as he was beaten and Gitansh Khera effected a stumping. He also removed Zahoor Sofi (1) as J&K’s middle-order crumbled as they werre reduced to 79/6 from a relatively safer 69/3.

The win was also Punjab’s first in the tournament having lost the opening encounter to Rajasthan on Saturday. The other India player in the team Yuvraj Singh did not get much chance as his solitary over cost him 9 runs and he did not get a chance to bat.

Brief scores: Jammu and Kashmir 105 in 19.3 overs(Bandeep Singh 40, Ian Dev Singh 39, Harbhajan Singh 3/8) Punjab 108/2 in 14.3 overs (Mandeep singh 58 not out, Pargat Singh 44). Punjab won by 8 wickets.

Karnataka prevail in 1-run thriller against Mumbai

Karnataka bowlers held their nerves to eke out a hard-fought one-run victory against a formidable Mumbai side in a Group D thriller.

Chasing 163 for a win at the DRIEMS Ground, Tangi, looked oncourse at 111 for five in 14.2 overs before Karnataka
bowlers stopped them short at 161 all out.

Brief Scores: Karnataka 162 all out in 20 overs (Stuart Binny 38, Mohammad Taha 37; Dhawal Kulkarni 3-35, Rohan Raje 3-29) Mumbai 161 all out in 20 overs (Abhishek Nayar 49, Shreyas Iyer 32; Sreenath Aravind 2-32, Stuart Binny 2-20, KC Cariappa 2-32)

Nitish Rana sizzles as Delhi hammer Andhra by 111 runs

Youngster Nitish Rana played a brillant counter-attacking innings of 97 from 40 balls as Delhi cantered home by 111 runs against Andhra in a group C match.

Left-hander Rana, known to be one of the hardest hitters in the Delhi circuit, certainly would have attracted attention of a few franchises after smashing 34 off 15 balls against Railways on Saturday.

Brief Scores: Delhi 236/9 in 20 overs (Nitish Rana 97, Milind Kumar 58, Pawan Negi 22 no, CV Stephen 5/52) Andhra 125 in 19.2 overs (SK Ramesh 37, Subodh Bhati 2/13, Ashish Nehra 1/13)

Bengal batting crumble as Tamil Nadu win by 69 runs

Left-arm spinner Rahil Shah polished off lower half of the Bengal batting with a five-wicket haul as the formidable Tamil Nadu demolished them by 69 runs in a group A encounter.

Batting first, Tamil Nadu scored 151 for eight with Abhinav Mukund top-scoring with 41. Seamer Alok Pratap Singh took 3/15 while Mohammed Shami scalped 2/30.

The India international now has five wickets from two games.

Brief Scores: Tamil Nadu 151/8 in 20 overs (Abhinav Mukund 41, Anthony Dhas 28, Alok Pratap Singh 3/15, Mohd Shami 2/30) Bengal 82 all out in 15.5 overs (Shreevats Goswami 31, Rahil Shah 5/12)

Gujarat crush Vidarbha by 60 runs

Gujarat registered a crushing 60-run victory over Vidarbha.

Sent into bat in the Group A match, skipper Parthiv Patel led the way for Gujarat with a 38 ball 59 and put on 91 runs for the second wicket with Manpreet Juneja (37) at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Jamtha.

Brief scores: Gujarat: 174/7 in 20 overs (Parthiv Patel 59) Vidarbha: 114 all out in 18.4 20 overs (Jasprit Bumrah 3/16, R P Singh 3/26)

Virat, Jaggi half-centuries help Jharkhand beat Tripura

Openers Virat Singh and Ishant Jaggi struck scintillating half centuries as Jharkhand scored a comprehensive nine-wicket win over Tripura.

Chasing 147 for a win, Jharkhand easily overhauled the target with nine balls to spare thanks to brilliant knocks by Virat (65) and Jaggi (75 not out) at the Nehru Stadium.

Brief Scores: Tripura: 146/7 in 20 overs (Rajat Dey 77 not out; Shahbaz Nadeem 3/18) Jharkhand: 150 for 1 in 18.3 overs (Virat Singh 65, Ishant Jaggi 75 not out; Chiranjit Paul 1/30)

Naik fifty helps Maharashtra outplay Services by 31 runs

Wicketkeeper-batsman Nikhil Naik’s 46-ball 69 helped Maharashtra outplay Services by 31 runs in the Group D Twenty cricket match.

Electing to bat at the Barabati Stadium, rode on a third-wicket 59-run partnership between Naik and captain Kedar Jadhav (36) to post a challenging 159 for eight in 20 overs.

Brief Scores: Maharashtra 159/8 in 20 overs (Nikhil Naik 69, Kedar Jadhav 36; Nitin Yadav 3-50) Services 128 all out in 18.3 overs (Soumya Swain 27, Rajat Paliwal 25, Sumit Singh 24; Shamshuzama Kazi 3-25, Swapnil Gugale 3-18)

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.